Skip to content

Menu Planning Monday ~ Ovenless Edition

October 25, 2010

So, I’m without an oven.  I’m laughing a bit about this because in August we were discussing the need to replace both out dishwasher and our 15 year old oven.  The dishwasher was doing a pretty crappy job and the oven was an old gas model that while it worked was extremely inefficient and had a few problems with the drawers and some rusting but otherwise ‘worked.’  So, in comes September and the dishwasher stopped working entirely, as in wasn’t even turning on anymore.  So, we of course decided to replace the dishwasher right away and put the idea of a new oven on a someday list.  Well, someday came on Friday morning when the gas line and hose broke when it was pulled out for cleaning and filled our home in natural gas prompting a call to our gas company to come and shut off the gas!  Uh, yeah, that’s right.  I called S. Geek down out of his office to help with the leaking gas and asked my Mom to take Nay outside so he wouldn’t suffer brain damage ;) from all the gas and luckily little Cake was at preschool so she missed all the drama.

Nay thought it was awesome, he rode his trike up and down the sidewalk for about 40 minutes before switching to playing in the leaves while we waited for the gas guy to get here.  So after he determined that yes there was indeed a leak (um, yeah!) he capped the line and let us know that he needed to do some repairs before our stove was working again.  After MUCH deliberation, S. Geek and I figured that somehow we could figure some way to make it work.  So now, I have a dilemma and that’s which new range to get?

I’m LOVING the dual oven gas ranges from GE, and Kitchenaid makes a nice one as well too.  I’ve seen also a Maytag dual oven that looks pretty good but it has the controls along the side so it really reduces the cooktop space and I’m not sure I like that too much.

GE Dual Oven Gas Range

I like the look of the electric version better than the gas one but with the rising (and still rising, thanks Mr. McGuinty for screwing Ontarians) cost of electricity it’s pretty plain to see that natural gas is the way to go.  The only thing I’m not a fan of is that the second ‘oven’ is a drawer rather than having a second door like the electric version.

 

I’m going to go and actually look at some of the physical ovens tomorrow morning to see which one I like the best.  I don’t make these kinds of decisions lightly so I’m hoping that by Wednesday or Thursday I’ll be ready to actually make a purchase but if GE wants me to review a dual oven on my blog then I’d be more than happy to accept one….Jenn-Air too, I’ll accept one of yours too.

 

Now…that leaves me with a number of options for ways to make dinner over the course of the next week.  I’ve got a slow cooker, a barbeque, a flat gridle and thank GOD for that because I think Cake would ball up in a corner if she had to go more than a few days without a grilled cheese sandwich and I also have this plug in roasting oven that I received as a wedding gift that I think if I got desperate for a casserole I could use.

 

Monday:  Slow Cooker ‘roasted’ chicken with lemon, rice cooked in the microwave, and salad

Tuesday:  Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken from Momicon

Wednesday:  Slow Cooker pulled pork buns using pork loin and PC barbeque sauce served with veggies and dip

Thursday:  Breakfast for dinner, Pancakes!

Friday Fun Night:  boiled eggs, cooked in the egg cooker, toast, and fruit

Saturday:  Slow Cooker Cheeseburger Meatloaf and frozen veggies

Sunday (Hallowe’en Night!!!)  Candy Take out Pizza from Dani Boys!!

 

For lunches this week, while I’d normally be serving soups this time of year I predict many peanut butter sandwiches and quesadilla’s.  Maybe even lunch from Dirienzo’s around the corner once or twice. The only problem I haven’t solved is the sweet treats for after dinner…usually I have cookies or something to offer for dessert but since I can’t bake and my kids aren’t fans of puddings (well Nay is but Cake is not so much) I’m thinking of buying a bag of cookies even though it’ll be hard to resist personally.

 

So wish me luck, hopefully I can find something I like tomorrow and get the new oven in and installed sooner rather than later.

 

Hugs,

Jenn

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 12:06 am

    Looking for some good meal ideas. Happy Menu planning. Have a great week.

    Nina

  2. October 26, 2010 2:20 pm

    Hi Jenn and thank you for dropping by my blog.

    My dishwasher went last year too and we haven’t replaced it yet, I’m not sure why. Now I have no oven and no dishwasher, lol. I think my kitchen is trying to tell me something!!
    :-)

  3. October 26, 2010 4:03 pm

    This would be a good were to try one of those slow cooker cakes. Some you do right in the slow cooker and some you do in a mason jar set in water.

    If you want to borrow mine until you get your new oven let me know. I also have a good toaster oven.

  4. Shannon permalink
    October 26, 2010 9:32 pm

    I’m relieved no one got hurt. Now happier b/c I love slow cooker recipes. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

