Skip to content

Where Does He Get That From?

October 21, 2011

So far this month, Nay has said he’d like to be the following things for Halloween:

Firefighter

Ghost

Spiderman

His Potty (I don’t know…but he’s said it on more than one occasion)

He already has the firefighter costume that I bought for him last year that mostly fits so I’ve been heavily leaning him that way but he keeps changing his mind!  He is a bit on the indecisive side that boy, I wonder what horribly annoying parent passed on that trait to him…ah crap, it’s me.

When I was growing up I don’t remember having a choice in the whole hallowe’en costume decision.  It was hey, you’re a clown this year or you’re Strawberry Shortcake or whatever.  Nay is just three and he’s already going through an ever growing list of costume ideas.

Here he is last year in his Captain Kirk costume that he was thankfully able to wear two years in a row.

It’s sort of hard to tell he was Captain Kirk because his jacket was covering his costume, but he was pretty darn cute.  I’m not so sure I’m all over the Spiderman costume for him, though I think I can reuse Cake’s Princess Leia costume to fashion some sort of ghost costume if need be.  Just need a white hat and we’re set.

This is why it’s awesome being a grown up, I can totally wear the same costume every single year.  I am a Jedi Knight.  Dorky, I know but I used to pretend and sometimes while I’m alone in my kitchen still do I’m Jedi material, down with The Force and all that.  Just have to hope that the weather co-operates this year, because last year…that fluffy white stuff came…you know what I’m talking about.  I won’t mention its name.  Even with that ‘stuff’ we had over 500 kids last year, if the weather is good there will be more; must take second mortgage to buy cheap candy type more.  I haven’t bought any yet, S. Geek did and I have gained 3lbs since he brought it into the house.  I’m going to go ahead and blame him since CLEARLY it’s all his fault for bringing it past the threshold of our domain.  The place where I spend 23.5 hours a day, and the fatty delicious chocolate can be absorbed through airborne molecules.

(I totally just googled ‘airborne absorption’ thinking maybe there was a better word for that and um whoa reading even the tiny google blurbs made me just close the tab thinking oooooooookay…..)

That whole airborne thing really made me lose my train of thought.  Focus…focus…I want some candy now, damnit S. Geek!  He can’t hear me, he’s on an airplane currently travelling at 437 mph and 11,700 feet.  I love that little iphone app, even if it is sometimes wrong and I show up to the airport early with the kids and have to spend an extra thirty minutes throwing every cent of change I have on me into the fountain.  Sometimes I wonder if the kids only like picking S. Geek up so that they can go through coins in the ‘waterfall’ as they call it.

(I…I just watched my cat, Riley lick a big tuft of fur off her neck and swallow it…no longer desire any chocolate from downstairs…I feel like yaking now…)

See all the brilliant writing I can output when I’m tired and bored and waiting for S. Geek’s arrival?  MAN, I am GENIUS!  I realize I’ve written a whole post about nothing in particular but that’s what’s on my mind right now.  I had grand plans to sew a nice warm fleece blanket for Nay’s bed since he’s been waking up in the morning with little icicles on his toes and I’m too cheap to turn on our furnace buuuut lying in bed with my cat and more poor amputee dog is far more comfortable than hunched over my sewing machine with no slippers to keep the icicles from forming on my own toes.

Why is it that I can never find awesome slippers?  Do you wear slippers?  I like ones with heal backs on them so that they don’t slip off, also ones that have a good sole but are flexible since when I do get the luxury of sitting down I like to tuck my feet under my bottom. 

Just got a text from S. Geek that his plane arrived early, Flight Tracker still says he’s traveling at 559mph.  Apparently today is one of the non-accurate days for the app.  I’m going to go stalk the front door so that I look nice and creepy for the cab driver when he comes to drop off my husband.

Please don’t unsubscribe, I promise I’ll write something intelligent next week.

Cheers,

Jenn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula permalink
    October 21, 2011 9:59 am

    Maybe Nay is saying *Harry Potter* when he says Potty?! Great post. Hope the cab driver wasn’t too creeped out and stopped long enough to drop of S. Geek.

    P.S. yes, I wear slippers but I kick them off when I curl up with my feet underneath my bottom :)

  2. October 21, 2011 4:57 pm

    OH MY GOSH. I’m going to ask him right now if he meant Potter, because our dog is also Paw-ter…brb…
    He reiterated that he wants to be just Nathan sitting on his potty, I don’t even know what to say!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

