Skip to content

no rise cinnamon buns

March 26, 2010

My MIL makes the best buns.  I absolutely cannot compete with her yeast buns so I’ve had to make an impression on S. Geek with other delicious baked goods.  One I’ve been meaning to do for awhile is a no yeast (and therefore no rise) cinnamon bun!  This is a super fast and super delicious bun perfect for a sweet treat for child and adult alike.  While I was making them I was thinking that next time I think I’ll try and sub in at least 50% whole wheat flour but for this go, it’s 100% white flour.

Start by combining your cinnamon and brown sugar in a bowl, then measure out your butter or margarine and combine until it’s all crumbly.  A little tip for you now!  To measure out your margarine use the water displacement method!  It’s very accurate and a lot faster than trying to get the right amount into a dry measure cup.  Start by filling a wet measuring cup up with one cup of water.

Then simply spoon in the desired amount of your sticky margarine (works great with pb too) until the water level rises to the right amount.

Neat, huh?  Anyway, once the mixture is combined spoon a teaspoon or so into the greased bottom of each cup in a 12 muffin tin pan.

Then combine your flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Cut in 1/4c. butter or margarine (like when you’re making pie crust.)  Once you’ve sufficiently incorporated the butter, make a well and add in the milk.

Stir with a wooden spoon until you get a nice soft dough.  Turn the flour mix out onto a floured surface and knead for a minute or two.  Roll out to a rectangle and then using your daughters princess ruler, measure to about 1/3 inch thickness and about 12 inches long.

Spread the remaining sugar mixture over the dough and gently but firmly roll it up.  Pay special attention to the middle and try and even it out as you go.  Once you have rolled it up, cut it out into 12 equal slices.  Another helpful tip: When you need to slice sticky things like this, or pinwheel cookies run your knife under HOT water for a few seconds, dry it off and then slice in a sawing motion.

Place your slices in your muffin cups and then try not to drool all over the goodness while putting it into your 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.  When they’re done turn them out onto a board or plate and I suppose you could put a glaze or cream cheese icing on them but I personally like them as is.

Easy Cinnamon Rolls

2 c. white flour

2 tbls white sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/3 c. butter or margarine

1 c. cold milk

1/4 c. butter or margaine

1 c. dark brown sugar

3 tsp cinnamon

1) Cream 1/3 cup butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon.  Drop tsp of each into 12 greased muffin cups.  Reserve remains.

2) Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt.  Cut 1/4c. butter until it resembles course meal.  Make a well and add in the milk.  Stir with a wooden spoon until combined then turn out onto a floured surface.  Knead for two’ish minutes and then roll out to approx. 1/3 inch thickness.   Spread the sugar mixture over top of the dough and roll up firmly but gently.  Slice using a sawing motion into 12 slices.  Place each slice in a muffin cup and bake for 20-25 minutes.  Turn out immediately when they come out of the oven.  Enjoy!!

Hope you all have a super fun weekend!

Jenn

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 9:30 pm

    OK … I’m a little behind on the Friday Follow thing … and I have to tell you I don’t usually grab recipes from the web but we love cin. rolls and those look fab!! Stop by my plcae when you can!

  2. March 28, 2010 12:46 am

    Those cinnamon buns look delicious! I’ve tried a few of my MIL’s recipes to please hubs…they’re usually super rich and artery-clogging, though. So they’ve become “treats” I only make on occasion.

    I’m following from FF, although I’m late doing so. Looking forward to reading more of your posts…from what I’ve seen here you’ve got a great blog. Hope you get the chance to visit me, too.

  3. Laura permalink
    March 28, 2010 4:39 am

    Thanks for the recipe

    Here from FF running behind this week

    Take a minute to check out my blog
    I Have a Misikko Hana flat Iron Giveaway Going over 100 dollar package and other giveaways also

    ethertonphotography.blogspot.com

  4. March 28, 2010 1:08 pm

    Hi, Jenn. I’m enjoying my morning coffee (without any cinnamon rolls) and catching up on some great blogs – I’m a Friday, er, Sunday follower. Nice to meet you.

    You made those instructions look so easy, I almost feel like I could make them. Thanks for the step by step explanations.

    Stop by and I hope you’ll follow me back-

    Kelly
    http://KellysLuckyYou.blogspot.com

  5. Mel permalink
    March 29, 2010 3:58 am

    I feel this was posted just for me!! LOL Can’t wait to bake these!!!

  6. Rachel permalink
    March 29, 2010 4:43 am

    Hey Jen for slicing your cinnamon rolls try Thread. Wrap the thread around the roll, cross the two wnds of the thread like you’re tying your shoe and then pull the thread to make it a straight line again. It works like a charm and you don’t get the flatened ends. It’s just a trick I use when I make Cinnamon rolls. mmmmm…..

Leave a Reply

