Skip to content

Why I am proud of what I do, and you should be too.

April 10, 2010

Being a wife, mother, and home manager (btw I actually don’t like that term but whatever) is a demanding job and sometimes thankless but it can also be one of the best.  But, reading sites like tru confessions you’d think that mothers are either blissfully happy or ready to throw themselves under the bus.  But it’s not just this one site, it’s all over the place.  When speaking recently to a first time mom she commented on the fact that a lot of mothers out there feel the need to one up each other with how hard they have to work.  It’s as if we use complaints as currency but what is it that we’re buying?  Am I getting too deep for you?  Yeah, me too.  But I also know that I AM HAPPY, not just some of the time but most of the time.  I’m not perfect, I sometimes loose my patience with my kids and raise my voice but for the most part we enjoy ourselves every day.  But is it wrong for me to be proud of my life?  I don’t think so, and neither should you!  So how do you dig yourselves out of the spiral?  I take my time in the morning and after I’ve taken care of myself I am ready to give myself away.  My ‘time’ btw is coffee.  After my coffee in the morning I am ready to give all that I can to my kids and to my house and husband.  What is your morning ritual?  Don’t have one?  Maybe you need one, something to start your day right because every day is a do-over.  If you’ve had a rough day or rough week take some time to go slow for a few minutes before you have to get up and go.  So tomorrow take 10 minutes and be yourself and take what you need to have the right day, the kind you deserve.

Just a reminder to mark your calendar for the last Saturday in April for the Perth Maple Festival!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

