Skip to content

Introducing geography

April 29, 2010

There are several personality traits that have been passed on in my family from generation to generation: a weakness for salt, a love of rye, an ability to intimidate (which kind of sucks but is also awesome at the same time) and appreciation of geography and our world are just a few.  Several generations in my family have been a part of mapping Canada and the world from the highest mountains to the depths of the oceans.  Between my brothers and I, we have all worked at mapping companies in different times of our lives and I suspect that at some point in my future when my children are in school that I’ll follow that path again in some way.  In the meantime though I have to cater my love of the world, it’s rocks, its forests and natural formations to a level that my own kids can understand and begin to grow an appreciation for.  I have mainly focused my attention to our physical world so far, our backyard mostly; what makes a garden grow, how does the compost work and how it benefits our family.  So, our recent trip to Maryland and the physical distance we traveled was an excellent opportunity to engage Cake in a new way with regards to learning about geography.  There was no understanding before our trip that Nana and Grandad’s house was much further away than a trip around the corner to the library; she also had no comprehension that the United States was an entirely different place than Canada, just as is Zambia (where a cousin of mine has been working on her masters (hmmm phd?  not sure really))  Anyway, what a perfect opportunity to start to learn about other places in the world with my future lover of geography!!

I gave each of the kids a sheet of paper, a glue stick, a couple of crayons and some printouts from google images all related to the state of Maryland.

Proud girlie!

So…here’s what we learned!

  • The State Bird is the Baltimore Oriole.
  • The State Flower is the Black-Eyed Susan (rudbeckia hirta).
  • The State Tree is the White Oak
  • The State Dessert is the Smith Island Cake
  • The State Sport is Jousting
  • The State Food is the Blue Crab

Fun stuff!  I’m thinking of making this a series of crafts but focusing on the provinces and territories of Canada first and then maybe the countries our ancestry is from.    Who knows, the kids mostly like using the glue stick so I’m thinking they’d be happy with anything 🙂

Hugs,

Jenn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robynn permalink
    April 29, 2010 11:26 am

    What a great idea Jenn. I think we will have to try this one.

  2. May 1, 2010 9:13 am

    Wonderful journey and experience!

Leave a Reply

