Skip to content

Do you menu plan?

May 3, 2010

Sometimes…I can be a bit of an organizational, list making, type ‘A’ person. Sometimes it makes me a difficult person to live with but other times it can be sort of handy! One thing I don’t think I could live without is my weekly menu planning sessions. It stops me from buying things we don’t need or use therefore spending less money and wasting less since we use what we buy every week. Our breakfasts are usually pretty casual: cereal, toast, bagels that sort of thing. Lunch is also usually low key: grilled cheese, quesadillas, panini’s, you get the idea. However I always try to make something worthwhile for dinner. I also always make one new thing every week. I tend to get bored easily with the same old meals so it’s nice to have something to look forward to. Speaking of looking forward to: on a side note S. Geek and I have a weekly stay in date night every Friday night we give the kids their fun meal and we get some nice take out that we couldn’t share with the kids like sushi or some nice spicy thai. So here’s a breakdown of what I’m planning this week:

Monday: BBQ roast chicken with parmesan baby potatoes and grilled vegetables

Tuesday: Turkey taco’s

Wednesday: BBQ Hamburgers

Thursday: Chicken spinach pasta toss

Friday: poached eggs on english muffins with fruit (kids) AND MHK Asian fusion take out (S.Geek and I)

Saturday: S.Geek’s awesome grilled brown sugar ribs, boiled baby potatoes (hey, they were bogo free 2 Metro) and broccoli salad

Sunday: Leftovers!!

My dessert for the week is going to be a cream cheese pound cake with strawberry coulis from here. (btw, this is another amazing cooking site this girl has some SERIOUS talent, go absorb it!!)

What does your menu plan look like for this week?  Never tried it?  Go on, give it a whirl!  You’d be surprised how much easier it can make your life.

Hugs,

Jenn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robynn permalink
    May 3, 2010 10:57 am

    Ummmm can we come for dinner on Saturday? Tee Hee I love Shawn’s ribs

  2. May 3, 2010 1:02 pm

    Aw! Thanks for the sweet comment and the link! 🙂 Hope you enjoy the pound cake!

Leave a Reply

