Skip to content

Menu Planning Monday

May 17, 2010

Ah how quickly this day falls upon me every week. Sometimes I look forward to it other times, not so much. Our upcoming week will be all about kid and time friendliness since S. Geek is off to Orlando this week.

Monday:  Flour tortilla Pizza

Tuesday: Chicken Caesar Salad

Wednesday: Chicken Quesadilla

Thursday: Spaghetti

Friday: Broccoli and Cheddar Quiche

Saturday: Chimichanga (making this for the first time!)

Sunday: Roast Beef dinner

This week I’m going to include my absolute recipe for pasta sauce.  I’ve made it hundreds of times in the last decade and it’s absolutely perfect and part of its perfectness is that it’s super easy to change it up if you prefer a different seasoning or vegetable or no meat or turkey or beef!

Jenn’s super amazing awesomeness pasta sauce

2 onions chopped

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 lb ground meat (beef, turkey, or none, whatever)

2 15oz cans plain tomato sauce (I usually use hunts)

1 6oz can tomato paste

1 green pepper, seeded and chopped

1 red pepper, seeded and chopped

large handful mushrooms, sliced

head of broccoli, sliced

1 tablespoon each: oregano, basil, parsley, cayenne pepper, paprika

2 bay leaves

Saute onion and garlic in a bit of oil until the onions are translucent.

Add your meat and brown and then drain.

Add in your tomato sauce and paste and bring to a boil over medium high heat

Turn the burner down to low and add in your vegetables and spices and simmer for 45 minutes to an hour.

Enjoy!!

This freezes extremely well, just double bag it in ziplocks and lay flat.  From one batch of sauce I usually get enough for one spaghetti, one lasagna and then one bag of sauce for the freezer.  All of my highest hopes are on our tomato plants this year so that I can stop using canned tomato sauce but last year our garden was under attack from millions of ants so we hardly had enough to use when they were ripe let alone get any into the freezer.  Oh well, the battle is already underway, I’ll be showing off our work on the garden so far this year another day this week.  And oh, how it’s really coming along…lilacs, bleeding hearts, weeping caragana….giddyness!

Another time, another time…

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 4:11 pm

    It’s amazing how everyone makes pasta sauce differently! No two recipes are alike.

    Broccoli, huh? I haven’t tried that, but I think it might be one of those things you can only get away with when your kids are small? 😉 I do add pureed spinach though, which gives it pretty colourful green flecks, and the kids never know it’s there 🙂

    If you want to get away from the premade sauce, canned tomoatoes work very well, until your garden bears more fruit or just to top it up. I use crushed tomatoes and simmer it a nice long while.

    I’ve never used paprika in pasta sauce, I’ll give it a try!

    • May 18, 2010 11:01 pm

      So after reading your comment about the spinach my mind immediately wandered to the last bag of pumpkin puree I have left over from the fall. I made my sauce for dinner tonight and added in about 2.5 cups of the puree and other than changing the texture a bit there was no difference in the taste! Now I don’t feel as bad that the kids ignore all the chunks of pepper and mushroom because they got a decent amount of pumpkin!!! Thanks Hotelqueen!

  2. May 20, 2010 3:56 pm

    Oh yeah, i’ve been known to throw extra pumpkin or whatever-that-veggie-was-the-label-fell-off-the-freezer-bag puree in my sauce too! you can hide a LOT in tomato sauce!

Leave a Reply

