Skip to content

It’s DONE!!

May 27, 2010

So remember Cake’s Easter dress?  Yeah…it’s totally done, she’s even worn it twice since I’ve finished it!  I’m so super proud that it turned out SO well and I can’t wait to decide what my next project will be.  I really want to do something for Nay but well I just haven’t had the time to decide what to do next.  But first some gloating time over my first completed project!!!

The pinafore and dress, apart plain but together...

pure adorableness!

Here's the back!!

With buttons and a zipper and EVERYTHING!

Here she is! So proud of herself!

This is her 'Princess Ballerina' pose

She didn't want to be sitting here. She didn't want to get her feet dirty.

The dress is a bit on the baggy side, which kind of works out since it will probably still fit for Easter 2011!  I love the colour of the fabric, the cute buttons on the back, and I especially love how making this dress for my daughter has opened up a new world for her.  The day after I gave her the dress she came up to me and asked me to sew her a bag.  I was absolutely delighted that she asked and we set to work.  I took a rectangle of fabric, made some loops to put in a shoelace drawstring, and then I made some bias tape out of S. Geek’s old dress shirts to make a shoulder strap.  So far we’ve used the bag to carry doggy waste bags on our walks, we brought presents to S. Geek when we picked him up at the airport, and it’s been a diaper bag for her babydoll.  Love that I’m able to do these things for my girl.

fresh off the sewing machine

Yay!  I love creating, I’ve recently bought One Yard Wonders by Rebecca Yaker and Patricia Hoskins and would love to do some projects out of there.  I’ve wanted to make aprons for some time so maybe that will be next, but who knows, anyone have any suggestions?

Hugs,

Jenn

Oh, and don’t forget to enter our Poppy’s Boutique giveaway by leaving a comment on my post!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    May 27, 2010 5:41 pm

    That dress is adorable Jenn! I had a Strawberry Shortcake one similiar to that when I was growing up. Congrats on your recent sewing accomplishments!

  2. Trail's Crafts permalink
    May 27, 2010 8:28 pm

    Cute dress. I love the butterfly buttons. They add a nice touch.

Leave a Reply

