Skip to content

Homemade Laundry Detergent One Month In

June 18, 2010

One month ago I blogged about changing from commercial laundry detergent to my own home-made mixture. Before I get into my review I have to say that after a LOT of searching (and a lot of quizzical looks from store staff) I finally found somewhere that carries actual Arm and Hammer Washing Soda!!!

Turns out its actually called ‘So Clean’ in Canada.  How random is that???  Anyway according to the label its phosphate free so that makes me happy!

I paid $5 for this 3 KG box so that makes it even cheaper than I had originally estimated!  Probably not by much though…maybe *maybe one whole penny cheaper per load 🙂

Go figure that I finally find this at the teeeeeeeeny tiny grocery store just around the corner from my house meanwhile I’ve searched all over the place looking for it.

As for the detergent I’m using right now, I have to say I couldn’t be happier.  Whether the clothing is cleaned in the dry or on the line outside I find it incredibly soft, the colours bright, and no difference in the actual cleanliness of the clothing.  I did however notice that some of the whites were not quite as brilliant as I was used to so I broke down about 2 weeks ago and purchased a small canister of oxiclean to add in to the white wash.

On my travels over the internets I also found someone who was saying they only use 2 tablespoons of detergent compared to my 1/4 cup.  Pretty big difference,no?  Well it’s pretty hard to see inside the barrel of a front loader, even with your flashlight and even with a 21 month old and 3 year old ‘helping’ but I rinsed a load after washing to see if I could see any suds and didn’t see any so I stand by my 1/4 cup of detergent.  On a side note and awesome activity for a 21 month old and a three year old is to give them flashlights and tell them to try and find fishies in the washing machine during the wash cycle.  SO FUN!

All in all, I’m glad I switched.  It’s saving me money and I feel better about the reduced chemicals I’m pouring down the drain.  S. Geek has seen no difference in his clothing and although he has yet to actually put on a load using the new detergent, ahem It’s just as easy to use for both of us.  In fact it’s so easy, I’m thinking that I may look into making my own dishwasher detergent next!

Happy Friday!

Hugs,

Jenn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 4:40 am

    I bought a similar version in the US. I live in Canada as well. I had to give it away because I bought a new washer that requires He soap. Thanks for sharing. Happy Friday to you too. : D

    Anne-Marie

    • June 18, 2010 2:45 pm

      Thanks, I also use an HE machine and it works GREAT! You’ll see a lot of recipes out there where theres more soap or fels naptha in it, this recipe has less of the laundry soap in it so it doesn’t disrupt the HE goodness!

  2. June 18, 2010 3:05 pm

    wait so… granola bars AREN’T healthy? haha. Shoot, I’ve been using that as a “healthy snack” for myself, too. haha, thanks for visiting 🙂

    good find with the laundry soap! I’ve been thinking about this lately too. I don’t really want to go into making my own though I’ve considered it before. I almost bought some 7th generation the other day but my coupon had expired and I couldn’t swallow the whole full price.

  3. June 18, 2010 4:53 pm

    Thanks so much for stopping by today. I do not have a HE washing machine yet, but as soon as my current one dies, I will have one. And, I hope that is soon! :0) And, you can’t beat “Arm and Hammer” and trusted “oldie but goodie.” Blessings for a wonderful week-end!

  4. joyceandnorm permalink
    June 18, 2010 9:36 pm

    wow! that sounds fantastic. i’m hoping to get into line drying again.

Leave a Reply

