Skip to content

Menu Planning Monday

June 21, 2010

We had a busy weekend, as I’m sure a lot of families did but we did a lot of really AMAZING cooking!  Wonderful rotisserie chicken, a beautifully marinated then bbq’d steak for fathers day and lots of berry-licious desserts!  BUT all these recipes were ones that I’ve done time and time again so I’m really itching to try out some new things.  Too bad it’s totally not going to happen this week…

Not that I don’t have the time, I just don’t have the creative juices in me to make up something new.  I browsed through foodgawker for about 40 minutes thinking that I’d just come across something that looked good that I could tailor to our tastes but nothing was…right.  So, I went to the freezer to see what we had on hand and I figured I’d grant Cake’s (daily) demand request to make spaghetti.

But what I’m most excited about, and what I’ve made my highest priority of the week is to finally make eat individual pineapple upside-down cake!  So delicious and wonderfully adorable…it’s all I can do not to get up from the couch and go make them right now!  Two problems though, one I’m totally exhausted and there’s a pretty good chance my legs would give out.  Two X-Men 2 is on t.v. and remember my penchant for watching movie trilogies over and over and over again?  Yeah, X-Men is one of my favourites and I wouldn’t want to miss the chance to watch it for the uhhhh….tenth time.

OK, back to menu planning…here’s my plan for the week.

I'm a doodler when I menu plan...it helps, really it does

Monday:  Leftover Steak dinner with mushrooms and salad

Tuesday: Chicken Cacciatore

Wednesday:  Polish sausage on a bun

Thursday:  Lentil soup with whole wheat sunflower bread

Friday fun night dinner: Pancakes (Cake has requested that I only ever make round pancakes again as the last batch apparently were unappetizing)

Can't imagine why a 3 year old would find these creepy! But I kinda thought they were cute!

Saturday: Cake’s spaghetti

Sunday: Leftover night

And don’t be scared, as soon as I make up those pineapple babies I’ll be sure to post so you can drool all over your computers.

Just in case anyone is interested here is my totally tested and loved steak marinade.

1/4 c soy sauce

1/3 c Worcestershire sauce

1/4 c olive oil

1/4 c fresh lime juice (lemon works well too)

3 tbls dried parsley

3 tbls dried basil

2 tbls montreal steak spice

3 tsp black pepper

8 minced garlic cloves (yes 8, but we LOVE garlic so feel free to start off with a smaller amount)

That’s it!  Marinate your steaks and grill on the barbecue and enjoy!

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 6:49 pm

    Thanks for visiting me! I love your top ten list…I may have to swipe that idea next year! That’s so funny about the pancakes. I just bought the same molds but my boys loved them. As far as they are concerned the weirder the better! 🙂
    Have a great week,
    Julie

Leave a Reply

