Skip to content

I’m dying….of ‘delicious’

June 25, 2010

I swear I do a lot more around here than bake sinfully delicious treats for my husband and children.  It’s just that really some things should not be kept a secret, and believe me this is one of those things that you should do.  Go to your cupboards RIGHT now and check to see if you have the ingredients, it’s okay I’ll wait.

Ready?  OK good, you’re going to thank me because oh dear, my goodness I think I just drooled a bit on my laptop.

OK, back to the recipe: we are going to make wait for it….oh so good…pineapple upside down cake!!

Wait, wait before you go and brush me off thinking that ‘yeah, you and my GRANDMOTHER love this, just try it!  I used my totally adorable individual pineapple upside down cake pan but you can use a 9X9 pan if you wish and you’ll get the same result.

So, gather ingredients

I highly recommend adding in one adorable three year old assistant

Then preheat your oven to 350.  Drop some butter or margarine into your pan and then pop your pan into the preheating oven to melt.  Once it’s melted drop in some dark brown sugar and let it soak into the melted margarine.  Drop in one pineapple ring and one cherry into each cake mold (or if you’re using a square pan, cover the bottom of the pan with pineapple and cherries in the pineapple holes.)

Adorable three year olds love to drop the cherries in!

kinda pretty already eh?

Mix in the rest of your ingredients until smooth.

The egg yolk wasn't even broken yet and Cake was already asking to lick the spoon.

Once everything is all smooth and ready, spoon the batter on top of the pineapple rings.

I was a bit worried that I filled them too full but they don't rise a lot so it was fine.

Pop those baby’s into your preheated oven and bake for 30 minutes (or if you’re using a square pan you may want to increase that to 40 or 45 minutes.)  When they come out, please try not to eat them directly from the pan.

do you SEE the little leaves on the top of the pineapple shape? I'm DYING!

Take a HEAT PROOF tray and then lay it across the top and flip those babies over.  They should come right out, but don’t take the pan away right away.  Give it a minute or two to make sure that all the brown-sugary goodness gets dripped over the cakes.

can you see them?????

Take away the pan and you are left with pure gold, baby!

*I am shuddering with elation right now

pretty! pretty! pretty!

Like the special effect on this one? Yeah it's called getting so close to the awesomeness that you fog up your camera lens

And that’s it!  How easy is that?  I seriously highly recommend getting one of these adorable pans though.  Williams and Sonoma sells them as well as….I *think it’s called The Kitchen Collection and it’s an outlet store.  I have not seen these in Canada though but I’m sure if you couldn’t get to the US easily you could order one online somewhere.

I’m excited to figure out some other cute ways to use my new pineapple pan, so if anyone has some suggestions send them my way!!

Pineapple Upside Down Cake

From Betty Crocker

1/4 c. butter or margarine

2/3 c brown sugar

9 slices of pineapple (I only used 6 since that’s how many my pan held)

9 maraschino cherries (again, I used 6)

1 1/3 c flour

1 c sugar

1/3 c shortening

1.5 tsp baking powder

.5 tsp salt

3/4 c milk

1 egg

Just follow the directions above, you seriously will thank me.

Hugs, and Happy Friday!

Jenn

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 2:34 am

    Hello! I am a new follower! I really like your blog! Please stop by my blog when you can. Be sure and check out all the low entry giveaways! Have a great Friday! Heather http://www.livingonloveandcents.blogspot.com

  2. June 25, 2010 2:37 am

    Can we discuss the cuteness of the pineabpple shaped pan??
    LOVE IT! Following you through Im lovin’ it friday. Fitting =)

  3. June 25, 2010 2:58 am

    I’m so glad you posted this! My mom and I were just wandering through Williams Sonoma and we saw individual pineapple pans like those and I realized I’ve never had a pineapple upside down cake! Never! Which is ridiculous because I LOVE pineapples, cherries, and ooey gooey goodness.

    I can’t wait to try these.

    Your little helper is adorable!

    Also… “getting too close to the awesomeness”… I love that! Cracked me up!

    Blessings
    Rachymommy – MommyTopics.com

  4. June 25, 2010 3:20 am

    that looks so yummy, I’ll definitely give it a try!

    I’m a new follower 🙂

    ~Victoria
    http://ourlifewithjake.blogspot.com

  5. June 25, 2010 4:04 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I just love yours. And what beautiful cakes! I’ve always wanted to try something like this but never saw any decent recipes that had pictures!

  6. June 25, 2010 9:31 am

    I’ve made Pineapple Upside Down Cake loads of times but never thought of making individual ones – yours are so cute!! What a great dessert for any occasion – or just for eating with a nice cup of tea 🙂

  7. June 25, 2010 11:15 am

    YUM! I love that pan – so adorable! Thanks for visiting the Clean Mama blog so I can come and visit you!

  8. June 25, 2010 1:57 pm

    Those look absolutely delicious and I don’t even like pineapple!!!

    (visiting from nff)

  9. June 25, 2010 3:12 pm

    I will gladly trade you a bushel of pineapples for that adorable little assistant you have there. When they hit double digits they are still kinda cute, but the cake doesn’t taste as good!

    Love those pans. I have GOT to get me one. I heart pineapple upside down cake! YUM! Thanks for sharing!

  10. June 25, 2010 9:14 pm

    Found you from I’m Lovin’ It Fridays 🙂 Do you know – I don’t think I’ve ever had Pineapple Upside-Down Cake. And I really love pineapple! Going to have to remedy that after seeing your pictures. Especially loved the one with the fog – too funny!

    I subscribed to your email feed – feel free to stop by my place and do the same 🙂

  11. June 27, 2010 1:32 am

    That looks so good. I love pinapple upside down cake. I wonder how that would work in a cupcake pan?

  12. June 28, 2010 5:54 pm

    Looks yummy! Wonder if they’d freeze ok? I love baking but hardly ever make anything ‘good’ because I’m the only one to eat it! I LOVE pineapple.

    • June 29, 2010 1:42 am

      hmmm not too sure if they’d freeze too well. You could always try the other suggestion about using a cupcake pan and just half the recipe maybe?

  13. June 30, 2010 4:58 am

    I love that you have a special pineapple pan. How awesome is that?

    I bet my kids would love these. Thanks for the suggestion!

  14. June 30, 2010 2:55 pm

    How adorable is that little pan? And your helper? Oh my! She’s sweet!!!!

    Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! I’ve been wanting to try a pineapple upsidedown cake. I’ve never tasted one before, let alone bake one. Can’t wait to try this recipe! I may even have to order one of those pans!

    I’m adding myself to your followers list as soon as I post this comment!

    I posted on What’s on the Menu Wednesday, too! Check out my post! I’m hosting a giveaway too!

  15. July 16, 2010 12:54 pm

    Hi! I am visiting from New Friend Fridays from The Girl Creative. I was checking out your posts and came across this one for the Upside Down Pineapple Cake. Mmmmm…..it looks so good! Especially since you used that CUTE pan to make individual cakes and had a very helpful assistant =). All your recipes look delish! I will have to try some of them. Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

