Skip to content

Menu Planning Monday

June 28, 2010

Today was all about berries, currants, raspberries and strawberries.  Oh how I am enjoying the strawberries this year, so fragrant and delicious!  I’ve managed to get a few cups in the freezer, and a few jars of jam made but we’ve really just enjoyed having them for our desserts.

We are lucky to be having two barbeque’s this week it being Canada Day on Thursday and an old friend is coming back to Ottawa for a visit and will be with us for dinner on Saturday.  FUN STUFF!

Here’s the plan!

Monday: Chicken a la King

Tuesday: Homemade pizza with pepperoni, mushrooms, and BACON

Wednesday: Planked steak with porcini mushrooms, broccoli salad, and baby potatoes

Thursday: Canada Day BBQ @ our neighbours place

Friday Fun Night Dinner:  Hot dog squids

Saturday: BBQ with Friends (BBQ Turkey with slow cooker stuffing)

Sunday: Creamy pasta with peas

yes...that's right...only 26 weeks until CHRISTMAS!!!

Do your kids watch Dora?  I created a new explorer star.  It’s called cooking star, she glides around the kitchen and does all the annoying parts that I don’t like doing, like grating garlic, or de-fatting chicken (de-fatting?  Look!  I also created a new word!)

I also have a couple of goals this week that I’ve been wanting to get around to: finish the crown molding in the family room, if possible paint two of the walls in here.  Also I want to make a clothes pin bag, I keep my pins outside right now but I hate that they get all gross from the rain, and well…I hate not knowing if creepy crawlies have made a home in the bin.  SHUDDER!!!!

Other than that I’ve got a bit of extra cleanup to do in preparation for our guests on Saturday.  I’m hoping that I can sneak in an extra visit to Cake’s day camp to give me a bit of extra time too but we’ll see.

Happy cooking to all and to all a good night!!!

Hugs,

Jenn

<

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 2:16 pm

    I think you may be my long lost sister! How many things on this page speak to me? First, anyone that puts bacon in all caps, giving it the place of honor it deserves is first class with me. Then you are serving hot dog squids, a household favorite here. I like to boil ours first and then broil them to give them just a little crispness. And do we like Dora? Well my youngest does, and I could use a kitchen star just like yours. The kicker was the link to Millions of peaches at the bottom of the page. I am going to have Peaches by The Presidents of the United States of American humming in my head all day now. 🙂

  2. June 29, 2010 2:07 am

    I would love to be able to get currants here. Come join me for What’s On the Menu Wednesday this week. I’d love to see you there

Leave a Reply

