Skip to content

Do you have any angry birds?

June 29, 2010

So I get inspiration from a variety of places when I want to make up a craft for the kids.  Internet, t.v. (love that Mr. Maker show!), uh my brain, but most recently I’ve been thinking about angry birds.  Man, they are angry and they make ME angry too!  So I thought what better way to alleviate my anger towards angry birds than to turn them into a children’s craft.  Are you confused yet?  If you have an iphone I bet you know what I’m talking about…

HAHA!  It’s one of the most used iphone games in our little family!  I actually suck at it, but both Cake and S. Geek have gotten pretty far.  Basically the pigs have stolen the birds eggs and you have to slingshot the birds into the structures that protect the pigs.  If you loose they laugh and snort and give this HUGE smile that makes me yell at them.  Yes, I yell at the pigs.  Sometimes I yell, that is me.

🙂

HA!  So now that I look like a lunatic I’m going to tell you about the craft.  I thought Cake would be all over this but she actually wasn’t.  Perhaps if I had pre-cut out the pieces it may have gone a bit smoother but in the end she kind of did her own thing and didn’t really use enough glue on any of it so when I picked up her ‘masterpiece’ to get it off the kitchen table it all just floated to the floor in a pile.  Both Cake and Nay were acting a bit funky today too, so I’m sure that may have played a roll.  All Nay wanted to do was poke the google eyes…and squish them, and dig in the gluestick with his fingernail.

🙂

I did get one scene completed though, Cake helped me and it looks pretty good.  I may revisit this again, in a few months…with precut pieces.

Cake said ' the sun needs an eye' I said just one? she said 'yep' ... OOOOOHHHHKAY

It’s mostly paper, the birds are pompom’s with google eyes and paper beaks.  I used an elastic band to make the slingshot, and the flowers (courtesy of Cake) are die cuts.

A fun craft, but because of all the elements I think it was a bit too optimistic for me to undertake with two cranky kids.

Tell me, where do you get your craft ideas from??

Hugs,

Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 9:54 pm

    I absolutely love how the craft turned out. So cute!! And I don’t know Angry Birds, but I’m going to check it out.

    As for crafts, most of my ideas come from other blogs. If you go to the list of my favorite blogs on my blog, you’ll find some great resources. With your kids being so young, I’m thinking that you will like The Crafty Crow best.

  2. Laura permalink
    July 21, 2010 1:53 pm

    Very cute! I was searching for inspiration… I want to make a “real life” version that my kids can play when dad is away with the ipad (yes, they’re addicted). I thought I’d spray paint some different size balls, then draw on the bird features. For the pigs, maybe make them out of paper bags so they collapse…? I’ve got an old set of cardboard blocks that they can throw the “birds” at to destroy the pigs. Trying to figure out how to make the yellow bird… any ideas? 🙂

    • July 21, 2010 2:58 pm

      hmmm…my immediate thought was to somehow mold an egg carton section but that’s really not triangle-ish enough. You may be looking at a paper mache craft! Cake HATES getting her hands dirty with that kind of stuff so I don’t think I see paper mache in our future any time soon. Or if your kids are older maybe they could contruct 3D triangles out of popsicle sticks!!! Ohhh yeah, I like that idea! I can’t wait until the kids are a wee bit older and they can get into all the super cool crafts!!

  3. Laura permalink
    July 22, 2010 2:45 am

    I like those ideas! I can’t wait to get started – thanks for the help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

