Skip to content

Meal Planning Monday ~ Better Late than Never edition

July 5, 2010

Yikes!!  So we had a super fun holiday weekend, did all of you?  Yeah…less sleep than normal, WAY more alcohol than normal, fireworks, BBQ’s, pool, overnight guests, a few tantrums mostly my own, and did I mention alcohol?  Uh, yeah I did, uh, OK then.

So all of that plus we have just signed up for a two week trial run for an organic food delivery and it sort of stumped me on what I’m supposed to plan since I have no idea what fruit and vegetables will be arriving on my doorstep on WEDNESDAY!  My awesome friend Maranda suggested that I plan mostly barbeque-ables and then pair it with whatever comes in my bin.

So that’s what I’ve done!!

Monday: Greek inspired Chicken and vegetable salad (see notes below)

Tuesday: Roll over from last week Creamy Pasta with Peas

Wednesday: Baked Pasta with cheese (if my basket comes in before dinner I’ll whip up a salad to go with, if not then baby carrots with ranch dip)

Thursday: Out to dinner for S. Geek’s birthday

Friday:  Friday fun night (I thought I’d do some sort of omelet with what comes in the bin)

Saturday:  Marninated chicken (herbs du provence + diana sauce) and something grilled from the BIN!!

Sunday:  Leftover Night ❤

So Hopefully this organic delivery will be a winner, I don’t usually buy to many organic food items but when Maranda signed up for it I was curious.  I’ve never really been on the organic bandwagon, but I’ve also never really done much research into what kinds of things our food goes through to get to us.  I’m not trying to save money, and I definitely won’t but I’m trying to make a healthier change to our lifestyle.  I’ll let you all know what I think of it sometime in the next few weeks, and if we decide to keep doing it longterm.

So a few notes about the greek salad.  I LOVE greek salad but I HATE oily greek salad.  My go-to recipe for this was from allrecipies.com but it is a bit on the bland side and since I’m a recovering salt addict I need more flavour in things to keep me away from the shaker.  I came across another recipe that was similar but used fresh herbs (dill and mint) which I had never tried before.  I made it over the weekend and sent the boys out on the boat with some for lunch, not having pre-tasted it.  After they had gone I had a small bit and it was SO BLAND!!!!  They, of course, ate it all (along with some poutine from some stand in Alymer) but I was thinking that I really needed to step it up a notch.

So I started with the regular veggies (peppers, tomato, red onion, cucumber), then I grilled some chicken on the bbq and sliced it up.

Then I added 1/2 cup of chopped fresh dill, 1/4 cup chopped fresh mint, a small palm of dried parsley, a small palm of garlic powder, and some salt and pepper. Throw in a container of seasoned feta cheese (they were on sale at the grocery store this week, score!) And a drained can of sliced black olives, or kalamata olives would be good but I really don’t trust those olive carts.

For the dressing I used 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and 1/4 cup EVOO then after it was all whisked I added some finely grated garlic and it.

Add it all together and let it sit for a few hours and now it is fit for consumption.

Please enjoy!  Normally I’d say to pour yourself some delicious beverage to go with this, but I’m off the sauce for the rest of the week while my liver recovers.

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 8:06 pm

    Our bin comes tomorrow, and I can’t wait to have more delicious salads! We’ve been getting a nice mix of lettuce, spinach and other greens, plus other nice veggies to make some yummy salads. Tomorrow we’re having BLTs and salad, and even though I’m not a huge fan of the “B” it will be a nice easy meal. Although I actually make “BST”s and use spinach instead of lettuce, shhh…

    Here’s our meal plan, using our random veggies for stir fry, salads, etc:

    http://momicon.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/meal-planning-with-a-10-year-old/

Leave a Reply

