Skip to content

Jenn O’Reilly wishes she could read the newspaper without crying

July 9, 2010

Did you read the article from reddit recently about drowning?  It seemed to come right in time for several children to DIE from drowning in hotel/backyard pools.  Every time I read or hear about these things it makes me literally sob tears of grief.  How must the parents be feeling?  I ache…seriously…ache.  S. Geek and I were talking about a recent case over breakfast one morning and Cake was so confused, she said that the baby (a two year old) wouldn’t have died if she’d had one of the things we have.

~

So I wouldn’t call S. Geek or I safety crazy.  We don’t go out of our way to completely kid-proof our house, we try to give our kids freedom to learn their own lessons and so far I think we’re doing a pretty good job.  That being said, we do have rules but the ones we do have are very strictly adhered to.  We hold hands in parking lots, when playing in the front yard you never go past the sidewalk without an adult but our most important rule is that you never EVER go near the pool by yourself.  EVER.  PERIOD.

S. Geek and I both grew up with backyard pools, but we were older when they were installed.  Old enough that we both knew how to swim and old enough to know not to go swimming by yourself.  Our kids are 3 and almost 2, while we can say rules over and over and over I know that it’ll take some time before they fully understand why they can’t just hop into the pool whenever their little hearts desire.

We have taught Cake what to do in case of an emergency, but sometimes 3 year olds aren’t the swiftest.  Which is why we’ve invested in one of these:

There is a motion sensor, and a underwater wave sensor that when activated will set off the alarm both poolside and in the house.

It didn’t really cost that much, considering what could be lost.  But I have to say I have set it off quite a bit by accident, usually from checking the temperature of the pool and throwing the thermometer back in near the sensor.  Sorry neighbours!

We also have a few in the house precautions going on.

Typical baby door knob thinger

One of those apartment lock thingy's on our screen door. Yes we had to drill into the wood frame but again, consider the cost.

We also invested in Salus life jackets for kids.  Yes they were $80 plus taxes but they are the only lifejackets certified to flip kids onto their backs if they go under.  And yes, we’ve tested this…but we were right there the whole time…don’t judge us please.

I guess I really just need to stop reading about toddlers drowning in pools.  That is why I’m saying all of this, really please, I’m begging you.  If you’re going to have a backyard pool, be responsible and take steps to ensure the safety of your children and others.  Supervision is NOT enough.   And don’t even think that the cost of a pool alarm is standing in your way.  If you own a pool, you’ve got to have an extra bit of cash lying around because they are money suckers.  If you can’t afford to take care of it, then fill it in or take it down.

And please don’t take this to mean that I’m blaming parents of children who have drowned because I most certainly am not.  Toddlers are sneaky sneaky little people.  They get away from you, even when you are watching them.  I can’t count the number of times when I’ve turned my back on Nay and caught him halfway through a box of crackers 15 minutes before lunch.

So consider it, if you know someone who is moving into a new house with a pool it would make the perfect housewarming gift.  And BTW I am not being compensated at all by whoever makes this thing.  There are lots of pool alarms out there, just google ‘pool alarm’ and there is loads of information out there.

OK, that is all…here is something cute to help you with your day.

hehehehe...silly domo's

Hugs,

Jenn

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 2:37 pm

    Hi Jenn. I am visiting from NFF. I think that is great that you have done all those things to make your pool as safe as can be. We don’t have one right now, but thanks for sharing. Happy Friday!
    ~Theresa
    http://www.beingrefinedassilver.blogspot.com

  2. July 9, 2010 2:41 pm

    It is really terrifying to think about that. I used to have a recurring nightmare that my little girl was drowning. Horrible!

  3. July 9, 2010 3:05 pm

    Subscribing to RSS feed from Tiffany’s Bookshelf, Tall Tales from a Small Town, and The Tales of Dexter and Nora!

  4. July 9, 2010 3:34 pm

    Stopping by from NFF to say hi.
    Have a great day!
    http://harrietandfriends.com/2010/07/2867/

  5. July 9, 2010 5:55 pm

    drowning scares me to death too! My sister was a near drowning when she was 2 and was in the ICU for awhile. In a way I’m glad this happened (she is 100% fine) because it made me so aware and I will buy every safety gadget that exists when we do buy a house with a pool. I refused to buy a house on a lake or pond because I couldn’t babyproof that!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, I’m following you back 🙂

  6. July 9, 2010 11:21 pm

    Drowning. I shudder to think about it. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am following back 🙂

  7. July 12, 2010 11:59 am

    You just can’t be careful enough around water. I, too, grew up with a pool as an older child and remember the strict rules and supervision that were necessary.

    BTW, the Domo-san/kitty cuteness are too much to take. I need to wake up to that image every tday.

Leave a Reply

