Skip to content

Super adorable cuteness

July 16, 2010

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My friend, Margaret is due to have a baby girl in a few weeks and a couple of her friends are throwing her a baby shower which I am SO looking forward to!  The last shower I went to was 2 years ago for my BFF Rob…who went into early labour DURING the shower, but that’s a different story for a different day 🙂

For Margaret, she’s a relatively newer friend so I wanted to make her a little something to show her how much S. Geek and I care, and how happy that she and her hubby will soon be welcoming a new little girlie into their lives.  I thought about all the things I appreciated and adored when the kids were babies and something that immediately came to mind was this.

faded and well worn, but much loved!

Rob got this for me for Cake from a craft fair.  It was the best bib I have owned to date.  Cotton on the front and flanelette on the back, even after 3.5 years of almost daily use it is still in good shape.  So, to work I go!

Owls

And elephants!

I’ve no idea why I didn’t think to take a picture of the cute pink flannel that I used for the backing, but whatever!

I cute out three bibs from the elephant and three from the owls, then cut out 6 bibs from the flannel fabric.  Put right sides facing and then pin.

See how the top part touches on each side? That's important for the closure later.

Then sew as close to the edge as you dare or want.  I didn’t measure it but I did follow those little markings on the machine as a guide.

see the little tickies there? Yeah, those, follow those!

Make sure you leave an opening of about 1.5 inches so that you can turn the bib right side out.

Hey, there's the flannel! Anyway, once it's right side out I like to use a knitting needle to push out all the corners and edges and stuff.

Now you can use snaps, or a button for the closure but I had velcro already in my sewing kit so that’s what I went with.

originally I thought that a zigzag stich would be faster but it was too messy so I switched to the straight stich.

Finally, sew it closed either by hand on the machine.

Plus if you do it by hand, you can watch t.v. at the same time!!!

After a little iron, they are done!

Kinda makes you want to have a baby just so you can make new bibs, eh?

I can’t wait to give these to Margaret and I hope she loves them as much as I loved mine.  Now for even more fun I get to go shopping for the rest of the baby stuff to go with the bibs!!!

Hugs,

Jenn

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    July 16, 2010 4:56 am

    I’ll be patiently waiting for my bibs to arrive 😛 My sewing machine grew legs and walked out the door before it ever came in. I think it knew I was sewing retarded. 🙂 They’re beautiful!

    • July 16, 2010 12:28 pm

      Sorry Rach, Avlyn will just have to wait until Christmas/b-day…unless of course you’re bringing that sweet girl here anytime soon…

  2. July 16, 2010 5:15 am

    Hello i also host a friday blog hop! Feel free to add yourself to the list any time! Im your newest follower!

    Have a wonderful Friday!

    xoxox
    Lo
    http://22yroldhousewife.blogspot.com/

  3. July 16, 2010 12:37 pm

    good morning
    I am always a little jealous of people who can sew
    of course I think you did a great job . I am stopping by from
    New friend friday (girl creative and trendy treehouse)

  4. July 16, 2010 12:38 pm

    Very cute bibs!
    Visiting from New Friend Friday. Have a great weekend!

  5. July 16, 2010 12:51 pm

    Very cute! I’m sure the new Mommy (and baby!) will love them! And the fabric is too cute!

    Saw you at New Friend Friday!

  6. July 16, 2010 2:19 pm

    Stopping by from NFF and wanted to say how cute these are!I love the patterns you chose! I’d love to try to make a few for my next friend who has a baby!

  7. July 17, 2010 12:41 am

    How cute are those! Thanks so much for stopping by The Foodie Mommie. I am following you back!

  8. July 17, 2010 1:26 am

    I clicked on this post last night from Tidymom and was too tired to leave a message. Then today you visited my blog and took the time to leave a note. Thanks, I appreciate it very much.
    Been looking at some of your posts and photos. Your kids are so cute and your blogging is very good. Like the way you write.

    I subscribed so I’m looking forward to reading your latest entries.

    Thanks again and by the way….your little bibs are sweet and will be loved by the new *Mommy* 🙂

    • July 17, 2010 2:07 am

      I know what you mean…I’ve been blog reading for oh….2 hours now. I am done. SO TIRED!! I’m glad you could come by though, I’m looking forward to seeing the posts you put up on your blog too!!!

  9. July 17, 2010 4:00 am

    Hi,

    Thanks for the fun comment. The sound of the rain falling is so subjective. For some it is soothing and for others its an unpleasant noise. Go figure. Thanks for sharing.

    Anne-Marie

  10. July 18, 2010 3:07 am

    Those fabrics are too cute! The bibs are adorable. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my light box tutorial. Hope you’re having a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

