Skip to content

Menu Planning Monday

July 19, 2010

So last week we ended up deviating a bit from ‘ye planne’ since the chicken I had made on Monday was enough to feed up for 2 dinners and then top a pizza and then on Saturday night we had an impromptu BBQ to celebrate my lil’ bro’s 28th birthday.  So there are a few carry forwards this week,  but that’s AOK because we managed to use all the veggies up throughout the week anyway so there was nothing wasted!

This week I also get my organic delivery so I’m just going to have to wait and see what comes before I know what side dishes I’m making.  Luckily ‘grilled veggies’ is a pretty darn easy thing to do and really doesn’t require much more than oil, s+p, and maybe a bit of thyme or rosemary.

We went to a new farmers market also on Saturday to pick up a few things to get us through until the organic delivery gets here on Wednesday.  Met and spoke to a LOT of nice farmers who were from Ontario, rather than the US or Quebec farmers that sell at the Parkdale market.  And incidentally I was speaking with someone who knows a bit about the Ottawa by-laws and apparently some new ones came into effect that may have something to do with why some of the regular farmers I used to buy from no longer sell at Parkdale.  Such a shame since we are super close to Parkdale but I’ve heard that I may be able to find them at Lansdowne market on Sunday’s.  I did like the Carp market, prices were great, people were friendly, parking was FREE FREE FREE but…it’s a bit of a trek for us, and I’m not really sure that I can make that kind of time every weekend.  So next weekend (if there’s a need since we get our bin on Wednesday) we’ll check out the Lansdowne one, and although it’s a huge market I’m hoping that it’ll still hold the kind of atmosphere that the Carp/Parkdale ones have.

So here’s the dilly yo (insert ‘L’ on forehead now) for this week!

Monday:  BBQ chicken with grilled beets and arugula salad

Tuesday:  Meatloaf with wilted arugula leaves and sautéed mushrooms

Wednesday:  Elk Sausage and some kind of veggie from the OB (organic bin)

Thursday:  Garlic and Thyme grilled steak with OB veggies

Friday Fun Night: Pretzel Dogs, carrot sticks, and grapes

Saturday: Rotisserie lemon chicken with OB veggies

Sunday:  Black bean spaghetti from Gooseberry Patch cookbook ‘Come on Over’

For my sweet dessert thing for this week I’m going to be making a white chocolate chip oat cookie that looks to DIE for.  It has ww flour, oats, dried cranberries, white choc, and almonds!  Yum!

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 2:09 am

    I am supremely jealous of what sounds like a thriving market market (ha! ha!) in your area. Even with many farms near me, we don’t have that kind of variety.

    Do you make your own pretzels for pretzel dogs? I have the best recipe for them if you need it. http://www.melskitchencafe.com/2010/02/chewy-soft-pretzels.html

Leave a Reply

