Skip to content

Garden Tour!

July 23, 2010

OK, OK, I know I’m no Jane Brocket but I kind like my little slice of garden and am pretty proud of it.  When we first moved into our home, there were a LOT of gardens; seriously A LOT!  Which is fine if you like to pull weeds garden, and if you are retired.  But, when I moved in I was lazy pregnant with Cake and I worked full time so I informed S. Geek that although the gardens were causing me great amounts of stress because our lawn was the ONLY lawn on our block that wasn’t dandylion free beautiful, that they needed to be scaled back.  The first year, we hired a landscaper to come in and dig up some gardens, take out a couple of tree stumps, and reshape our front gardens.  We were also hoping to get the masonry done on the raised garden in the front but even though it’s only a few bricks it was going to cost a small fortune to fix.  After that first year and all the heavy lifting was done, S. Geek and I agreed that we’d undertake one big project a year until we were satisfied.  It’s really getting there, but hoooo dolly, there’s still so much to be done.  So here’s a little tour of my little slice of land.

Hosta's as far as the eye can see! When the landscapers came they told us we had WAY too many hosta's bunched too closely and that if they spread them out more they would thrive and have they ever! Also a snowball bush hiding one of our rain barrels and on the left there you can see the edge of a weeping carragana tree we planted this year.

I love the weeping carragana tree, if we had the space on our property I’d love to have a weeping willow, so beautiful!

See the crumbly brickwork? I say it gives it character!

This spot is not one of my favourites, again the hosta’s and there’s another plant back there but I don’t know what it’s called but it just sort of blends in, even when it’s in bloom.  So one year, I’ll dig it all up and figure out something new for there.  Not this year though!

This is my one and only garden accessory. He's a gnome, I like him. S. Geek HATES him, so he sits on my front step!!

Really, I was hoping that the garden gnome would keep all the earwigs away!  They are attacking my pots!  After they kill this current pot I’m just going to put them away and give up.  Damn earwigs!

Into the backyard, we have:

sweet basil

Blueberry bushes, only 2 years old so the birds are getting the only blueberries that have been produced so far.

Raspberry Patch

Red currant bush

My red currants are actually nestled right in to…

Compost row!

If you’ve ever considered backyard composting, let me tell you it is not nearly as hard smelly as you think it is!  I plan on posting the how to’s in an upcoming post so stay tuned!

So this is one area that I’ve bee working a LOT on.

This used to be my most hated area, the cedar was overgrown, the ground slopped down and it was a pain to weed, and it was overall just very dark.

The magnolia tree on the right is beautiful, especially in May when it blooms for about a week.  Another snowball plant, more hosta’s and there are some daisies in there too, albeit small and a bit trampled on by little people.  S. Geek and I are trying to decide what to do with the giant cedar tree to the right.   You can’t even see how BIG it is in this picture, it’s at least 30 feet tall and 15 feet across.  We’ve thought about taking it down but I’m pretty sure it will fall into Ottawa’s no tree cutting unless you’re a big company putting endangered turtles at risk bylaw.  And besides that, the cedar does have a purpose, it hides the end of the clothes line.  So, we are still trying to figure it out.  Either way something will happen because although it offers privacy, it attracts mosquitoes.

pretty, pretty, pretty! Makes me think of tiny little butterflies!

And on to the works in progress…I’m running out of daylight so I better get this show on the road!

taking out, not putting in

This used to house another little cedar bush, and tulips if I remember correctly.  We S. Geek is taking out the dirt, and the brick and then we’ll drop down some stone dust and put new brick on top.  We have a little change house to put up there since I’m sure my neighbours are tired of all the nudity happening at our house.

The patch of dirt used to be 4 raised beds, now we have that one 4X16X2. Hopefully we'll get another one built but it'll still be next year before anything is planted in there.

OK!  That’s it for the light, it’s done!  Sometimes getting the kids to go to bed 15 minutes earlier so that you can run outside and quickly take pictures is a good thing but maybe next time it should be 30 minutes.  I realized as I was posting all of these that I have absolutely nothing with colour in it in the ground!  Huh…never really noticed before.  Actually wait..no, I planted some purple lilacs at the back of the yard, so in 5 years it’ll be all colourful out there for a few weeks.  Good enough for me!!

Before I sign off, just a quick note on all the lovely thoughts from yesterday’s post.  I don’t want all my darling readers to be thinking that I’m depressed or attention starved.  I just really wanted to be HONEST with you about myself.  I hate when I am reading someones blog for any length of time and there is nothing real. Like all it is, is perfect kids with a super clean house, and they spend loads of family time together and whatnot.  I put a rosy glow on my life most of the time because I believe in thinking positive but I struggle too.  I am weak and I am learning and striving to be someone productive and to use my voice.

Too long have a struggled to define my role in the world, but not made an effort to go out searching! So that’s what Tutus and Rainboots is, it is a path, and I am so happy that you are here with me.

Hugs,

Jenn

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 3:19 am

    Hi Jenn!
    I came over from New Friend Friday. I am in love with your yard! I live in Arizona and everything is ugly and dead right now! The composting sounds interesting. Look forward to hearing more about it.

    Ashley
    http://cuteasafox.com

  2. July 23, 2010 4:26 am

    Happy Friday, lovely work in your garden. I’m visiting from the Friend friday hop. Enjoy your weekend.

  3. July 23, 2010 5:29 am

    I am here from friendly Friday. Love the garden. Our blueberries are about the same age, but I snatch the berries up before the birds have a chance. 🙂 Now I want red currants. They look lovely.

  4. July 23, 2010 8:45 am

    Hi I am here from Friendly Friday Follow! Just dropped by to say hello and i like your blog! Also we have a brand new blog-hop… no rules just fun and would love you to join in:) Happy Friday!

  5. July 23, 2010 1:54 pm

    Thank you so much for your sweet comment…I really appreciated it…They were both feeling better this morning so yayyy! 🙂

  6. July 23, 2010 2:31 pm

    Beautiful gardens. We used to have a magnolia tree at our old house. I loved that tree, the blooms were beautiful. I wish we could have brought it to our new home. I could plant one in our yard. There’s a thought.

    Have a great weekend!

  7. July 23, 2010 2:50 pm

    Stopping by from BMBF!
    I am not a gardener but appreciate looking at them 🙂 Your is lovely!

  8. July 23, 2010 3:06 pm

    Thanks for the sewing advice. I have been meeting to take a class- I really need to move it up on my to-do list. Your garden looks great- nothing better than digging your fingers in some dirt. Thanks for stopping by. ~Michelle

  9. July 23, 2010 10:04 pm

    Hiya! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 I’m subscribing to yours now! Love the garden…unfortunately, I have a deep rooted black thumb 😉

  10. July 24, 2010 3:03 am

    I have serious garden envy! Great job!

    I stopped by via New Friend Fridays at The Girl Creative

  11. Raven permalink
    July 24, 2010 2:15 pm

    Hi thank for stopping by my blog. What a pretty garden. I can’t wait untl I can have my own garden. Although i dont really have a green thumb. My poor plants. I loved your last paragraph. I know exactly how you feel. I hope you enjoy the search even with all its ups and down to find you. Have a great weekend!

  12. July 24, 2010 7:19 pm

    Hi Jenn! Thanks so much for stopping by 🙂 I started making the cupcake necklaces for my daughter when she was three too, and surprisingly they’ve held up great! Check back soon because I plan to do a cupcake bead giveaway 🙂
    -Katie
    miamoodesigns.blogspot.com

  13. July 24, 2010 7:41 pm

    I’d love the composting tips! I love to garden, too — I just wish it didn’t cost so much money! Yours looks so good!

  14. July 24, 2010 8:35 pm

    I love that you have blueberries and raspberries. I tried strawberries but one day they just died. I a not a good gardner.

  15. July 24, 2010 11:30 pm

    Wow! I was expecting photos of a lawn and a few shrubs after your lead-in. That is a gorgeous garden area…I am very jealous. I didn’t know hostas could live that far north…..they do well here is Texas despite the heat, they just need lots of shade.

    I didn’t read your previous post that mentioned perfect people, but I think your sentiments are shared with many, incl. me. I don’t blog visit that much because I often come finish depressed with my lousy life 🙂 Nice to know others feel the same. Anyway, I think we’re all still trying to find our own place in the world right along with you.

    Lovely blog!!!

  16. joyceandnorm permalink
    July 25, 2010 11:57 pm

    Thanks for the tour. I don’t know anything about gardening, but hoping to learn. My dad usually does a few things here and there whenever he comes over. My daughter loves to water the plants so we let her help with that.

    And I know what you mean about feeling like some blogs aren’t real. But definitely having a positive attitude even when things aren’t great makes things less stressful. I’ll have to check out your previous post.

  17. Tammy Ellison permalink
    July 26, 2010 3:38 am

    Hey I saw your comment on my Funky Flower page….thanks so much for the help. Taking photos is something I have always wanted to do so I guess I just need to make the time for it. TTYS…nice to meet you, kindof…lol. Tammy

  18. July 27, 2010 1:32 am

    what a beautifully landscaped yard/garden and your gnome is adorable. (yep I’m a bit of a gnome-a-holic especially gnomes riding things like turtles) I look forward to your composting piece as its something I really want to do but I;m scared of the ick/bug factor.

  19. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    July 28, 2010 8:53 pm

    Your property looks lovely now and I’m sure it will be even more so when you are all finished. I love your hostas, big fan of them as I don’t have a green thumb and the less maintenance the better for me.
    Having built in the country two years ago I know what a *work in progress* getting your property landscaped the way you want and envision it can be. I planted two *peppermint swirl* perennials last year. This year I cannot believe how big they are and their blooms are delightful. If you want a splash of colour I think you would love these plants. I’ll send you a picture of them if you want, just let me know.
    BTW, you have a wonderful *real* blog and I don’t think you should feel that you have to explain yourself at all for your earlier post. I appreciate honesty amongst fellow bloggers 🙂

Leave a Reply

