Skip to content

Menu Planning Monday

July 26, 2010

Last weeks menu was a huge hit, we had some really tasty dinners (black bean spaghetti, I’m looking at you) and a nice variety of veggies delivered in our organic bin.  As part of my 30 bucket list I made something out of one of my lesser used cookbooks this week, that is Gooseberry Patch’s ‘Come on Over’ cookbook.  Stay tuned later in the week when I’ll be sharing the recipes I used and of course what changes I would make next time.  And there really will be a next time because Yum-OH!

this is not even one quarter of my cookbook collection.

On to this week though!

Monday:  BBQ Chicken with citrus teriyaki sauce, barefoot beets, and raw kale salad

Tuesday: Pretzel Dogs (carried over from last week) and home made cauliflower mac and cheese.

Wednesday:  Southwest layered salad

Thursday: Red Cinnamon Apples with Port Sausage ~ this is a recipe from my next cookbook in the series a 1950 edition of a betty crocker cookbook…I’m a little afraid.

Friday Fun Night dinner: boiled eggs, cheese, and grapes for the kiddos

Saturday: Chicken with 40 cloves of garlic, homemade croutons, and spinach kiwi salad

Sunday: Baked beans, seasoned pork loin, apple poppyseed coleslaw.

For dessert I’m also making something from the 1950 cookbook; it’s called White Christmas pie…it has coconut.  It took me awhile going through the book to find recipes that I was actually willing to make.  Some seriously sketchy things in there!!  It was also highly enjoyable how each recipe had notes indicating who submitted the recipe and her new married name and home town… seriously like “thank you to jane smith (now Mrs. edgar johnsen of davenport, iowa)  who was a part of our office staff and perfected this recipe during christmas with her family.”  Uhhhhh….thanks?  I guess?  But I do know this, a LOT of recipes back then used one of the following: tapioca powder (never used this), pimentos (never used this), or gelatin powder (I have used this…to make jam!  Not meat.)

You want to know what the scariest thing is though?  I have another vintage cookbook in my collection…it’s a five roses flour one from the 50’s too…can’t wait!

We didn’t hit any farmers markets this week but S. Geek did stop by a farm stand to get some corn and yellow beans.  I had intended to cook them for the freezer but they were SO good that we ate them all up, guess I’ll have to make another stop this week so we can get some in the freezer!

Also wanted to point out something over….—-> there —> do you see it?  I figured out how to put buttons on my sidebar!  …actually, S. Geek did.  It took him about 45 seconds to do it, even after rewritting some of the code.  Apparently I should add to my 30 list that I should learn how to work my own blog.  Especially since when I use up all the space I’m likely going to host my own site…yeah…I’ll make that a post Christmas/New Years activity.  OK, go have fun!  I’m trying to convince S. Geek to go and see Eclipse in the theatre with me this week.  The battle is being lost though I think.

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 1:51 pm

    I love this Menu Monday! I think I will check back every week so that I can use your menus, you know, you do the work, and I benefit! That’s what this blog world is all about. Thanks for stopping by “In His Grip”. Judy : )

  2. July 26, 2010 5:28 pm

    Hi there! Thanks for your comments on my blog! I love the whole menu planning idea. The only problem is, I never follow them! One reason is that my kids are all older and I’m never sure who will be home for dinner. But, when the weather gets cooler, and I feel more like cooking, I’d like to start planning again. Have a great week!

  3. July 27, 2010 4:20 am

    Wish I’d saved some of my recipe books I had just from the 70’s so different from what we eat now. Come visit. I am giving away a Cuisinart Ice Cream maker to celebrate 100 followers.

Leave a Reply

