Skip to content

Can’t wait! Black Bean Spaghetti!

July 27, 2010

OKOKOK, seriously I was going to post this later in the week but I just couldn’t wait to tell you all about this recipe!  It’s lovely and delicious and my whole family loved it.  I am always looking for new vegetarian recipes for dinner.  We try to eat at least one vegetarian recipe a week but it usually ends up being a lunch since that’s a whole heck of a lot easier than finding a tasty and filling dinner to satisfy all the requirements for my family.  But, I’m happy to say this bad boy is going to be making a regular rotation into my meal plan and I’m sure you’ll feel the same way once you try it!!

So, it’s from here:

I love Gooseberry Patch, although I recently heard a rumour that they will be discontinuing their online store and selling cookbooks only 😦  Boo to that I say, do you hear me Gooseberry Patch?  BOOOOOOOOO!

Anywho…

What was I saying?

Begin by chopping up your veggies

Once your oil is HOT, sauté until crisp-tender.

Throw a small piece of something into the oil, if it bubbles then it's hot enough

Your temperature should be set to MEDIUM, I've seen too many people ruin a meal by cooking it on HIGH for the entire time. Don't turn your food to mush, lower your cooking temp!

Ok, once you’ve finished with your veggies add the rest of your ingredients.

Make sure you drain and rinse the black beans.

Once you’ve mixed it all in, bring it up to a boil (OK, go ahead and raise the cooking temperature.)

mmmmmmm!

Reduce your temperature to low and then simmer for 15 minutes.  While it’s simmering, cook your spaghetti noodles and get ready to enjoy!

He's pointing at the stovetop saying 'reach it?'

He had two HUGE portions, I'm still paying for it in his diapers. I'm considering using plastic ones any time I make this again in the future.

Surprisingly, Cake had several portions too!

Nay was so anxious to eat that I couldn't even get a picture of the finished dish until after everyone had eaten. As you can see a substantial amount of leftovers!

So,  next time I will make some changes based on our family’s preferred tastes.  The original recipe would call for 2 tsp dried italian seasonings.  I would add a couple tsp. each of : oregano, basil, thyme, salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika, parsley, and maybe some cayenne pepper and a couple of shakes of some dried red chilies.  I’d also add in a small can of tomato paste to help the sauce adhere to the noodles a bit.  I may even suggest that some other veggies might go well, like yellow zucchini, or broccoli, cherry tomatoes, or grilled corn.

Here’s the recipe as called by Gooseberry Patch

1 onion, sliced

1 red and one yellow pepper, chopped

package of mushrooms, sliced

15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

3 1/2 oz jar capers, packed in water (I drained mine because HOLY SODIUM BATMAN!!!)

2 tsp. dried Italian seasoning.

Sauté the vegetables until crisp tender.  Add remaining ingredients; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes; stir frequently.  Makes 6 servings.  (I had enough for the 4 of us to have dinner that night plus lunch today,)

There it is, go make it.  You’ll thank me.

Hugs,

Jenn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 1:50 pm

    This recipe sounds amazing! We’re trying to cut out meat once or twice a week as well. I’ll be making this soon! Thanks for sharing!

  2. July 27, 2010 3:42 pm

    Looks yummy!

    Following back 😀

Leave a Reply

