Skip to content

Pretty Pretty Pretty! Hair Bow Holder Tutorial

August 6, 2010

So you all know I have loads of love for Maranda over at Poppy’s Boutique right?  Well with my friend’s shower only days away I decided to throw in a couple of Maranda’s super adorable hair bows because no baby girl should enter the world without an abundance of of cute hair accessories!

But I couldn’t just wrap those babies up I had to give them some splash!  So in my nicest wifey voice I asked S. Geek to cut me some planks and I got to work (thanks S. Geek!)

I started by cutting out some quilt batting a bit bigger than the board.

Next put a layer of your desired fabric down and cut it a bit larger than the quilt batting.

Then get out your trusty glue gun and get to work!  Start pulling the quilt batting tight and then wrap the fabric over it and us LOTS of glue to make sure you have a snug fit.

At first I was using a piece of newspaper to smooth the fabric over the hot glue.

This was a dumb thing to do.

Why?

The newspaper will glue itself to the fabric. Crap.

I switched to a pastry cutter, it worked far better.

Much cleaner!

So work your way around the board, tucking and pulling, and glueing until you have this!

Nice eh?

Oh no, you’re not done yet!

Lay out your design for your ribbon.  I thought about doing a cross cut design but in the end I decided on going staight across because it looked a bit to cluttered for my taste.

Want a close up?

My favorite is the brown and pink polka dots, I used a lot of it!

So glue on the ribbons to the back and make sure it’s nice and trim; then choose something to hang it with.  I saw this cute zeebra ribbon in the discount bin at Michaels a few weeks ago and snapped it right up.  I knew that between Cake, and my niece, and other gifts here and there it would come in handy.  And it has!

Just hot glue that ribbon down to the back, make sure it is REALLY secure.

It was about the end when I started to rush, Cake was getting out of the pool with S. Geek, Nay needed to get up from his nap.  I still hadn’t started making dinner and I just started to rush.  And that’s when it happened.  My glue gun jammed up a bit, so I pushed the glue stick in not too hard but hard enough that it sort of spurted out a bit.  Right on to my leg.  As a gut reaction I wiped the hot melted glue off my leg, with my finger.  Stupid stupid stupid.  Anyway I won’t show you my leg because it is too gross for me to look at but my finger got a nasty burn on it.  I had to have a bag of ice ziplocked over my hand for at least 2.5 hours because the pain was so intense.  I finally drove to Shoppers to get some burn cream all the while holding my finger over the AC vent.

Ouch!

I once saw a poster or sign that said ‘I have no fingertips because I craft.’  Well, I guess one down nine to go!

So here’s the finished product!  I took this picture with the ice on my hand.  I was in some pretty severe pain at the time so that’s why I didn’t take the time to find a nicer backdrop.  But on the plus, you get to see some of Cake’s artwork skillz!

I do hope the Mamma to be enjoys this for her girlie.

I attached the bows right to the board, so that she would know what it was when she opened it.  It worked, she figured it out!

Love!

Did I tell you that this little girl is due on Nay’s b-day?  They would be exactly 2 years apart!  Then if they got married, they could have the same birthday’s and they could have joint b-day parties with cute black and white cakes!!!  Breathe…going overboard.

So can’t wait to meet this little girl, I hope she arrives soon!  (But not too soon!)

Hugs,

Jenn

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 1:43 am

    That’s a great tutorial too! 🙂

    NFF follower! 🙂

    Thanks for leaving a comment too.

  2. August 7, 2010 3:58 am

    Thank you for visiting my blog. Karie’s Chic Creations and leaving a comment. Love your blog and your idea. Thanks for visiting. Karie

  3. August 7, 2010 4:09 am

    VERY cute!!!!!

  4. August 7, 2010 6:02 pm

    I LOVE this! You should seriously make/sell these on Etsy! Great idea & very cute!

    Mar from Obviously MARvelous!

  5. August 8, 2010 12:54 am

    Very cute and a great idea!! Too bad my Granddaughter hates bows!! I used to cover photo albums with fabric and hot glue so I know your pain!!

  6. August 13, 2010 5:13 am

    Very cute! I really need to make one of these for my daughter.

Leave a Reply

