Skip to content

Time Flies

August 23, 2010

Well I guess we must be doing something right because because today S. Geek and I celebrate our SEVENTH wedding anniversary!  Happy Anniversary Babe!  Seven years ago today, I got up in the morning had two eggs and a slice of toast for breakfast.  Had a leisurely shower and wore my comfiest clothing before the rush of preparations began.  I had my hair washed and straightened, then curled and twisted and pinned (OH THE PINS,) and at least a bottle of aerosol was putin there to hold it all together.  My face was completely caked in makeup and my body stuffed and sealed into many many undergarments!

The weather was perfect that day.  It was bright and sunny even at our 5:30pm ceremony.  There was a slight wind in the air so it saved the guys in their suits a bit (I hope!)  We got married at a beautiful farm (type setting) so it was very green out and perfectly manicured.  It wasn’t a huge wedding, we had about 150 guests and I hope that everyone enjoyed it.

On our honeymoon, in Puerta Vallerta it was hot.  Like really HOT.  And humid, like walking from the air conditioned room to the pool side and you felt like you were sprayed down in a sweat shower.  We were there for 2 weeks in the sauna that was Puerta Vallerta, I read a book about being a newlywed.  It had some good advice and some I chose not to follow but one important fact (that was fact in 2003, who knows now) that I read was that a divorce was most likely within the first 7 years of marriage.  I can remember S. Geek and I talking about this, agreeing that divorce wasn’t an option for us and that no matter what happened we would be a team together.

Right then and there in the hotel room we decided on 5 things about eachother that annoyed us.  And we let them go, forgave their existence and accepted that they would never change.  I only remember one of the things I chose about S. Geek and while I still rib him about it now and then I know that until the day we are parted by death S. Geek will ball up his socks before he puts them in the laundry so that I have to separate stinky dirty socks before I throw them in the washer.

While we have gone through our ups and downs, we have powered though everything together hand in hand.  We talk to eachother, every day even though we don’t always make decisions about hard things right away.  We also say we are sorry, I say it a lot.  I’m grumpy sometimes in the morning so I often owe some apologies after I try to plow through S. Geek on the way to the cereal in the morning.  I hope that my morning missions are something that he can let go of, because I know that I can be a bit intense.

Respect.  It means a lot to him and a lot to me, we don’t take it lightly and we always make sure the other knows when we value the contributions and sacrifices.  S. Geek has sacrificed a lot, all for the good of the family.  Every time something like a convention or some new toy comes out I know he is practically salivating yet I know that he will see the good in a family vacation more than another expensive ‘toy’.  He knows the daily contributions I give, especially for the kids.  I think, I research, I am all over the future of our family.  He knows this, and appreciates me for it daily.

I know that our way, isn’t for everyone maybe not even for anyone else for that matter!  But, I truly believe that as long as we’ve got a plan we will know what to expect for the most part.  I love my husband, I can’t imagine not having a love like this in life.  I hope that one day my children will see the example we’ve set for them and find someone who will love and respect and listen to them the way that S. Geek and I do.  Happy Anniversary, I love you S. Geek.

Hugs,

Jenn

9 Comments leave one →
  1. S.Geek permalink
    August 23, 2010 11:43 am

    Happy Anniversary honey, it’s been a wonderful 7 years!

  2. August 23, 2010 12:01 pm

    What a great story! Happy Anniversary! Here’s to many many more!

  3. August 23, 2010 12:42 pm

    Congratulations!!! Looks like a gorgeous day. We’re seven years this year too. Time flies huh???

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  4. August 23, 2010 1:00 pm

    What a sweet post. Happy Anniversary and many, many more, too.

  5. August 23, 2010 1:02 pm

    Congratulations on your 7th Anniversary. This was a very sweet post and you two are a sweet couple.

  6. August 23, 2010 2:03 pm

    Congrats on your anniversary. Sounds like you have thought a lot of things out and you all have a great plan for your life and a good head on your shoulders

  7. August 24, 2010 2:30 am

    Happy Anniversary! You are a great wife and mother. It oozes out of you.

  8. August 24, 2010 5:13 pm

    thanks everyone, your kind words mean so much to me!!

  9. August 25, 2010 11:21 am

    Happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

