Skip to content

Has Anyone Seen my Brain?

August 27, 2010
tags:

I don’t know where my mind has gone this past week.  I haven’t been particularly busy or productive but for some reason my brain and creativity and drive seems to have taken a slight vacation.  I’m wondering really, when it’ll return to me and be of some use at all.  If anyone out there knows sees my creativity out at a starbucks or something tell it to get its’ ass home and do its job.

I’ve been reading this week.

It’s something from my 30 list.  It’s a book that from all descriptions I’ve read, I should LOVE.

Jane Austen's 'Sense and Sensibility'

It’s a period book, it’s a romance, it’s got turmoil, and uncertainty.  But I’m not enjoying it, I’m not connecting with Elinor.  I find Marianne loathsome and while I haven’t finished the book I have yet to find a male character who isn’t a complete…how shall I put this…poor specimen of the male gender.  That is SUCH a kind description but I don’t want to offend anyone out there.  I’m going to keep reading though because I am invested in the story now but I have to say that the previous book I read.  (The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood) was a much more enjoyable read.  I’m not sure what people love about this story or about Austen’s writing style.  Can anyone help me out?

Anyway, I have been doing a bit of work about the house.

S. Geek was away on a business trip somewhere and returned to a new family room colour.  I do this to him often, he seems to enjoy it although I’m not sure he agrees with my colour choices sometimes. When we moved into our house, we painted the entire house taupe because we didn’t really have a style yet and I didn’t want to choose something I’d regret in a year.  I’ve always loved the fall palate and so almost a year ago I painted one wall in my living room a pumpkin colour.  I loved it immediately but thought I should let it sink in for us for awhile before I started changing other rooms.  The family room is just the latest change but it’s really quite enjoyable for me, although unfinished.  I still have the other two walls in the room to paint an off white-ish colour, the baseboards need a coat of trim paint.  And then there’s the fire place.  That’s another thing on my 30 list that I have yet to decide on, right now it’s white and it has some ‘detail’ on it that I don’t see a way to change but aren’t my favourite so I’ve got to figure out some way to make me love it.  Do you see how that last sentence made no sense?  Yeah I’m really loosing my mind, maybe I shouldn’t be writing at night, maybe I should wake up early and write before the kids wake up.

I have a whole pile of sewing to do, laundry to fold, a birthday cake boohoohoo to bake, and loads of other little things to do.  I also have to admit that I’ve been dreaming of a European vacation.  My Mom is in Holland right now.  I want to go to Holland, or France, or ANYWHERE!!!  It’s not going to happen, but oh how nice it would be if I could saunter down a cobblestone street, peaking into shops and smelling fresh cut flowers amidst the bakeries and specialty stores.

S. Geek and I in 'The Pancake House' in Amsterdam 2006

Incidentally, I was about 3 weeks pregnant when this photo was taken.  Perhaps I’m just wistful of a destination vacation because S. Geek just booked a loooooooong business trip coming up in a few weeks and it makes me sad.

Maybe this diet is just making me cranky, who knows?

But, it’s Friday.  My beautiful baby is going to be two on Saturday and my bestie Rob is coming over with her crew for a little fete.  I’ve got an adorable cake to bake and outfits to choose.

Hugs,

Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 1:02 pm

    I love the colour of your pumpkin wall. Hope you have a wonderful 2nd birthday celebration and enjoy the time with your family & friends on Saturday.
    Think you might be in a bit of a funk right now but just remember that all things are temporary 🙂

  2. August 28, 2010 3:52 am

    I think your family room looks so warm and cozy with pumpkin walls!

    Happy B-Day to your toddler. Have a great party. Don’t stress out, just enjoy this time. They grow up so fast.

  3. August 28, 2010 1:32 pm

    Adorable blog! I’m Your newest follower. Please return the favor.http://motherhoodthetruth.blogspot.com/

  4. Jen permalink
    September 1, 2010 1:48 am

    If this is the only Jane Austen you’ve ever read, it’s not the easiest to read. Persuasion or Pride & Prejudice are both better IMO.

Leave a Reply

