Skip to content

September has got me!

September 7, 2010

So who out there had an absolutely wonderful L-O-N-G weekend?  Ohhh, I did, I did, I did!!  We didn’t have any really specific plans or goals for the weekend and kind of flew by the seat of our pants but that’s what made it oh so sweet!  We were finally able to take in a beach with the kids for some sand and water fun.  There was a no-swim advisory in effect so we only let the kids get buckets of water from the river and not go in to play in the water.  But they had a wonderful time digging huge holes and burying their feet in the sand.

I didn’t end up making it out to the Rideau River beach because we just sort of decided that we would go out at the last minute so we went to Mooney’s Bay since we live about 5 minutes away from it.  It was actually quite deserted for a weekend but I’m sure the 40 degree heat had something to do about that!!

Guess what this is!

I also managed to get to the store to replenish some of our craft supplies in preparation for the upcoming week.  Poor Cake, she loves to do projects but we had long used up all our construction paper that she only had these teeny post-it sized sheets that were leftover scraps from other projects for her to work with.  So, now we’ve got a nice full bin again ready for the upcoming weeks plans!!  Cake won’t be starting preschool for another 4 weeks so I want to make sure she’s got some fun things to do in the meantime.

Vanilla Cake baked in Bundt pan

For Labour Day, I had some ideas of what I wanted to do with the kids.  I knew the weather would be rainy and gasp cold so I printed out some ADORABLE flash cards for a game of toddler charades.  Cake loved the game and continued it even after all the cards had been used up.  Nay liked the pretending but found it difficult to vocalize the answers when someone else was acting their item out.  After a few more rounds I’m sure he’ll get the hang of it though!!

Cut in half, slather on marshmallow frosting

Speaking of Nay and his development, the time has come…for potty training!!!  Cake was a breeze to train.  If the pattern follows from  all the other experiences that Cake had no problem with but Nay did, I will be hating all things potty within a few days!  But there is the light at the end of the tunnel which I’m keeping my eye on.  For one thing…LESS LAUNDRY!!!  I’ve cloth diapered Nay since he was born and that means that I do a diaper wash every 3 days.  Every three days I rinse, wash, hang dry, stuff and fold his diapers.  I am SO ready to be done with that.  So. Ready.  I had a talk with him and asked him what day he wanted to stop using his diapers and went through the days of the week with him.  ‘Monday?’  ‘No.’  ‘Tuesday?’  ‘No.’  Wednesday?’  ‘YEEEEEAAAAAAH!’  So Wednesday it is!!  I do have a few cloth pull ups but…to be totally honest?  Other than the $30 Blueberry brand one, I don’t really like them.  The Happy Heiney’s one never fit Cake right, it was puffier than even the regular diapers and just didn’t work any different than a regular diaper.  I have one other one that I may use, but Cake was quite a bit bigger than Nay was and it’s a medium so I’m not even sure it’ll fit.  I went out and bought a little Toy Story 3 branded box for Nay to keep his pull ups in so I’ll use the diapers that came with it and once they run out I’ll evaluate where we’re at.  I have also bought the smallest boy underpants I could find to try and fit Nay’s narrow hips so hopefully we’ll be moving on to those soon.  I have to say that there is totally a lack of cute boy underpants out there though!!  For Cake there is branded stuff but also adorable flowers, and cute geometric patterns and so many options!  Shopping for Nay was terrible!  I could only find hideous spider man or iron man or ugly old man undies most places then I just lucked out to find some generic little ones at Sears with a few cars on them.  These saved my life!!

Are you getting curious about where I'm going with this?

So, just because I’m a little OCD, I’m going to post my menu plan for this week even though I took Monday off.  I still did my menu plan, and actually Cake helped me this week beyond her usual suggestion for ‘whole’ (boiled) eggs and toast for dinner every night of the week.

Monday:  Leftover pepper encrusted pork loin (which is DELICIOUS btw) with veggies

Tuesday:  Chicken and veggie roll ups casserole

Wednesday:  Leftover Night

Thursday:  Soba noodle stir fry

Friday Fun Night Dinner…you guessed it…eggs with toast and apples with peanut butter!

Saturday:  Dinner out at my in-laws

Sunday:  Slow cooker Beef Provincial (I’m not changing my keyboard to French just so I can write Provincial correctly)

Bet you can guess what's up now, eh?

I also chose a recipe out of another one of my vintage cookbooks to make this week.  Don’t worry though, this time I chose a dessert, a perfectly normal Chocolate Cream Pie from a Five Roses Flour Cookbook.   No more scary sausage stuffed apples for me, thank-you-very-much!

Nay's amazing birthday cake!!

It’s been a whole week that Nay has been two years old and I’m sort of coming to terms with it now.  But I really didn’t want to leave the adorable birthday cake pictures any longer!  And before any of you think that I’m pretty dumb, I am well aware that the rows on the rainbow are going the wrong way but to be honest I started the other way first and I think my way is WAY cuter!!  Mother Nature can feel free to copy off me, I won’t even ask for props!

I baked him this sort of okay vanilla cake that I came across while stumbling.  It was, just okay nothing fantastic I was hoping for something that screamed vanilla.  This cake just sort of mentioned it.  It had a nice aroma and while the flavour wasn’t unpleasant, it wasn’t a WOW the way that Cake’s last birthday cake was.  (I made her a white chocolate birthday cake on her 3rd birthday which was to DIE for!)  The marshmallow frosting was really nice, which tasted exactly like a marshmallow despite the fact that there was absolutely no marshmallows in it!

We’ve got quite the week ahead of us, in particular the registration for Cake’s preschool and Nay’s playgroup is this week so I’ll be clawing my way through all my neighbours to ensure we get a spot.  My plan is to be there an hour before the doors open, so I hope that’ll be enough!

Hugs,

Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    September 7, 2010 4:17 pm

    The cake is adorable. What a sweet Mommy.

  2. September 7, 2010 5:55 pm

    Wow! This is so cute. What a creative idea and great execution!!! I’m hungry for cake now…thanks for sharing!

  3. September 11, 2010 4:10 pm

    What an adorable cake! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Hope you try the calzones. They are truly yummy!

  4. September 13, 2010 9:04 am

    This is absolutely adorable!

Leave a Reply

