Skip to content

Cilantro Salsa Baby!!

September 10, 2010
tags: ,

Oh Goodness, another cooking post?  Seriously, what am I doing?  I have so many other posts in my head but as they say on the internets ZOMG!  I’m super tired!!  I only got about 5 hours of sleep and have spent the last two days in all the throws of potty training that I can’t wrap my head around the concepts that I originally wanted to talk about today.  So, I’ll revert back to my faithful love of cooking and melding flavours to keep me from droning on and on and (likely) on for far too long!

I’ve been working on this recipe ever since we first started having a garden and I learned about the deliciousness that is fresh cilantro.  Before the garden the only preserving I did was to make jam.  Old fashioned 44 cups of sugar strawberry jam, and I did it and enjoyed it but wondered if this was the extent?  Was I only meant to make too sweet strawberry jam forever?  At one time I didn’t even consider the possibility that there were other options out there.  Then one day in the late August bounty of tomatoes I sat there wondering what to do, oh what to do with these dozens of tomatoes that would likely very quickly go bad, or end up as MORE sauce frozen in my freezer!

So, after a bit of searching on the net I found an okay recipe for salsa.  It had a bit of a kick to it and used lots of tomatoes and resulted in about 8-10 cups of the best salsa I’d ever tasted!  I’ve made it every year and tweaked it a bit to fit our individual tastes, a bit more garlic here, a bit less salt there but this year I *may have added a bit too much hot sauce so it’s got a bit more than a kick this year.  More like a ummm canon ball to the ass!!

Well, this year as you well know as I’ve been complaining about it since early June we didn’t plant a garden this year so when I came across some cilantro on sale at the market that looked so nice and fresh I scooped up all three bushels and knew that I’d be making salsa the next day!  Unfortunately it did take me a few days to find some nice ripe tomatoes to cook with, I don’t know what’s up with that but tomatoes this year have been really woody, don’t you think?  But luck found S. Geek at our local Italian market one day and he brought home some beauties that just so happened to be on sale!!!

I spent thirty minutes, just chopping tomatoes.  I had 16 to work with, I left 4 with the seeds and seeded the rest.  I’m not sure why I did this, it just felt right at the time so I went with it!!

See the dark red sauce off to the left?  That’s the hot sauce, I put in about double what I did last year of S. Geeks hottest hot sauce…TOO MUCH!!!  I had just a few teaspoons of the stuff right after it was made and drank nearly a litre of milk to put the fire out!  S. Geek looooooooved it though.  I’m on a pretty strict diet right now and chips are a weakness of mine so there were none in the house for S. Geek to have with his salsa; in desperation he was eating salsa off of melba toast.  Poor S. Geek…

Nay my freaky freaky boy has a weakness for limes and lemons.  He would rather a slice of lime than an apple slice any day of the week so I may have given him these to suck the last bits out of when I was done.  Pure toddler heaven!!

After all was mixed, I let it sit for about an hour or so before I packaged it up.  My vacuum jar sealer bit the dust last year so I had to freeze most of it for use.  It’ll still taste the same but it won’t be nearly as chunky as it looks here in all its freshness.  Every year I say to myself that I’m going to invest in one of those big canning pots with the tongs and the lifters and stuff and it just never happens.  We’ve got lots of freezer space so it’s not really a big deal but if I see one on sale this year I’m totally going to buy it!!

So here’s my recipe with an adjustment I think will make it less spicy than what mine turned out to be.

Cilantro Salsa ~ makes approximately 8-10 cups

16 medium tomatoes, seeded and chopped

2 large onions, minced

2 cups fresh cilantro, washed and chopped

6 tablespoons hot sauce ( I used 8 or 9 in my batch)

8 tablespoons oil

5 tablespoons white vinegar

juice of four limes

8 tablespoons garlic, finely chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste, I use about 1 tablespoon salt and 2 teaspoons of pepper

Directions:

1.  mix all ingredients in a bowl

2.  enjoy!

just a note that the salsa will keep for about 3 days in the fridge so make sure you use it up before then!!  Or you could can it or as I did, freeze it!

Hugs,

Jenn

omg, I am so tired I’ve proofread this thing 3 times and only just now realized I never put a title on.  I was about to call it ‘she likes it hot hot hot,’ but that felt to dirty and my parents read this blog so ummmm ‘cilantro salsa’ it is!  There, I just added a ‘baby’ to the end so as to up the interest level…I’m going to go watch starwars and go to sleep now.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 1:09 pm

    MMMMMMMM I absolutely LOVE salsa. This looks good. I will have to try it. Coming from Trendy Treehouse New Friend friday!

  2. September 10, 2010 2:49 pm

    Trying to follow, I hit susbscribe in a reader, I hope thats a follow! I love the title of your blog,both of my girls love to wear their rainboots with their tutus! It’s adorable! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your salsa looks awesome! Happy Mothering!
    http://motherhoodthetruth.blogspot.com

  3. September 10, 2010 3:51 pm

    This looks amazing!!! I’d love to have you as a friend at Frou Frou Decor! I’d also like to invite you to link up at my Fabulous Friday Finds party, every week! Hope to see you there!
    Hugs,
    ~Terrell @ Frou Frou Decor~

  4. September 10, 2010 4:04 pm

    Thanks for stopping by our blog! Yummy looking recipe. mmmmm

    Blessings,
    Amy, Kristin, Sara

  5. September 10, 2010 5:16 pm

    Oh my gosh, I love this recipe. I’d love to follow you but don’t see a button/link to do so. I’d be honored if you could stop on over and link up this recipe on my Fresh CLean and Pure Friday blog hop and follow me back. Again, please advise me on how to follow you other than email subscriptions. Thanks! Roz

  6. September 11, 2010 2:44 am

    One of my next posts is going to be about home made salsa. I’d love it if you’d come link up at my Home and Family Friday linky party.

    Becca
    http://becca-homeiswheremystorybegins.blogspot.com/2010/09/back-at-it.html

  7. September 11, 2010 11:32 am

    Thank you so much for the recipe My husband loves salsa and I am always looking to improve what we make and can. I like the lime idea with the cilantro. We canned some a few weeks ago http://ashandlewplus2.com/2010/08/24/salsa/ it went well but was missing something!! have a great day.

  8. September 11, 2010 2:21 pm

    Thanks for stopping by!
    What a great recipe!! I’m definitley gonna try this one out!
    And good luck with the potty training!

  9. September 12, 2010 5:34 am

    mmmm! love salsa! thanks for stoppin by so i could see your site!

    added ya to our follwers list! 🙂

  10. September 12, 2010 5:16 pm

    Oh my… I am a huge cilantro fan. (You either love it or hate it.) Can’t wait to try this. 🙂

  11. September 12, 2010 8:48 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll definitely try it. And this recipe looks great – I never knew salsa had white wine vinegar!

Leave a Reply

