Skip to content

Menu Planning Monday

September 13, 2010

Did everyone have a happy happy weekend?  We did, the weather was mostly very nice; cool with a refreshing breeze.  Autumn is surely here so I’m doing less grilling and way more oven cooking this week.  In fact, I don’t think I used our barbeque at all last week…weird!!  Cake has been unhappy with the meals I’ve been making lately though, she’s not really a saucy type so casserole’s or skillet dinners aren’t really her thing.  The only meal she was really a fan of from last week was the soba noodle stir fry and she didn’t really eat any part other than the noodles!  So, I’m hoping that the upcoming week will be a little more to her tastes.  Nay will eat anything at all so I’m not really worried about him liking or not liking!

This week also marks the beginning of a new phase for the kids.  Cake will be going to preschool twice a week, and dance class and little Nay will be joining her for a playgroup once a week.  I loved the unstructured days of summer where we could swim or do crafts or just veg out and watch a movie!  I loved that we could do whatever we wanted, but really my personality thrives on structure so it’s such a relief to be getting back into a bit of a schedule again!!  We still have our weekends free, which is nice but our week will be structured with a destination every day.  Cake is super excited, she is so tired of playing with boys and ready to play with a group of girls!  She is the most social child I have ever seen, she definitely gets that from S. Geek!!

I haven’t been able to deliver on the chocolate cream pie though, so that’s on the agenda again for this week.  I think Cake forgot about it though so it’ll be a nice surprise.  After I’m done that, it’s going to be apple crisps, apple pies, applesauce, apple rice pudding, apple apple apple!!!  Then we’ll switch gears to pumpkins!  But I think I’m getting a bit ahead of myself now, so I shall focus on this week (at least for now!)

Monday:  Buffalo Chicken Calzones from HERE The only changes I have planned are to add in a heap of baby spinach and maybe some red pepper, oh and to make my own dough.  When I saw this on the friday blog hops, I fell in LOVE it just looks way to delicious!!

Tuesday:  Crispy mozzarella chicken with garlic spinach (Can you tell I bought one of those gy-gundo containers of spinach at the store this week?)

Wednesday: Leftover night

Thursday:  Appetizer night!  Cake will luuuurve this: Nacho’s, crabcakes, and meatball turnovers!  And a nice thick salad for me!!

Friday Fun Night:  Oatmeal pancakes

Saturday:  Dinner out because we’ll be going to see Yo Gabba Gabba @ Scotiabank place!!  I honestly don’t know who’s more excited, me or the kids!!

Sunday:  Cheesy grilled chicken wraps

I am also in serious need of some baking time, I’ve promised S. Geek bagels this week and I should probably make some good old fashioned chocolate chip cookies…or gasp!  I’ve just been hit with some inspirations…peanut butter cookies…filled with…chocolate GANACHE!!  Oh dear, I fear this diet is making me a bit ‘nutty’ ha! get it?  Nutty?  Oh nevermind…but I’m still making the cookies.

I’ll be sure to get lots of pictures because I’ve been a wee bit of a slacker with my camera lately.  Mostly it’s because I left it on the coffee table and my lovely little photog Cake picked it up and decided she was going to be a world class photographer and mess with all my settings.  Now I need to get my manual out and figure out what the heck she did!!  I really don’t have a problem sharing my stuff with the kids but MAN now I have to go read a manual when I’d much rather be doing something else.  Like the pile of sewing waiting to be done…or finishing Cake’s baby books, or baking a chocolate cream pie, or making stocking stuffers, or sewing Nay’s Hallowe’en costume, you get the idea.  Buuuuuuuut…as I’m such a sucker for stupid movies from the 90’s…I’m watching Hackers.  On t.v.  with commercials and everything.  Right now Crash Override and Acid Burn are getting interrogated by the FBI…what a good movie.  Bye then!!

Hugs,

Jenn

Maybe I should get a ‘handle.’  Anyone have any ideas?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    September 13, 2010 3:42 pm

    I can’t believe you’re going to yo gabba gabba, and that you’re excited about it! That guy drives me nuts! I avoid him as much as possible. (we may have an encounter once a week) He’s no Sharon, Lois and Bram that’s for sure.

    • September 13, 2010 6:22 pm

      the kids love yo gabba gabba! So do I, far less annoying than toopy and binou or dora/diego! Nay is even going to dress up as Plex for Hallowe’en!! Love DJ Lance!!

Leave a Reply

