Skip to content

Homemade Bagels!

September 17, 2010
tags:

It seems these last few weeks I haven’t had much time to do to many projects other than take care of the house, stuff with the kids, plan for Christmas Hallowe’en, and cook!!  Hence, why so many of my posts these days have to do with food, well that and I’m still on this diet (yay, up to 10lbs now!) so I’ve spent a lot of time thinking and planning out what I’m going to serve.

I’ve really wanted to try my hand at homemade bagels for some time now as S. Geek has a small addiction and they can really get quite costly.  Honestly, I don’t even know why they cost so much because it’s pretty much just flour, yeast and whatever flavourings you want to dip them in!  I normally buy S. Geek the ‘everything’ bagel so I thought I’d make the same kind for him by combining poppy seeds, garlic powder, onion powder, and sesame seeds.  Next time I make these which will likely be in another 2 weeks since as I mentioned S. Geek has a rather strong addiction to bagels I will get some dehydrated onion to use instead of the onion powder.  Overall, these were super tasty, chewy on the inside and crunchy on the outside.  S. Geek was SO excited for these and has been talking about them ever since and after absolutely no probing on my part he posted some very nice comments about me on facebook.

So, start off with some warm water, sugar and yeast and let it all sit together for 5-10 minutes.

let sit until its all foamy

Next add in the flour and salt.  I used all white flour this time but now that I know how to do it I’ll try 50/50 with whole wheat flour.  But I do recommend using the ‘best for bread’ flour.

I also used my stand mixer with the bread hook, made it super easy!

this is after about 4 cups of flour

Next mix in by hand or with a wooden spoon another one and a half cups of flour, or enough to make a nice stiff dough.  Then knead it until it gets quite smooth and is no longer sticky.  I ended up kneading for about 7 minutes until I was happy with the dough.

this picture makes me smile

Grease a bowl and put the dough inside and turn it over once to cover.  Then cover with a tea towel and put it somewhere warm with no draft to let it rise.  I usually just throw it in the microwave and shut the door, don’t turn it on or anything just keeping it away from any breeze that may come it’s way is enough.

after one hour of rising, give it a punch down

Divide the dough into 12 equal balls, then pinch a hole in the bottom and gently stretch the dough until you have roughly a two inch hole in the middle and the dough is about one inch.

this photo is probably one of the reasons my camera is messed, my hands are covered in oil and dough.

Place the bagels on a greased cookie sheet and cover with your tea towel to let rest and rise for another thirty minutes.  Don’t let them get too big or the hole with close up and they already sort of close up while you’re cooking them.

While the bagels are rising start a big pot of boiling water with a bit of sugar.

see what I mean about the holes closing up?

Once you’ve got a rolling boil, drop in your bagels for one minute, turning after thirty seconds.  As soon as my bagels came out, I dipped them in my flavour mix and placed them on a greased cookie sheet.

Bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes.

ummm...

Ohhhhh

Yeaaaaaah!

And here’s a little extra yummy for you:

to die for

I don’t think I’m every going to buy grocery store bagels again.  These were so easy to make and so delicious I seriously highly recommend them.

And if you’re sitting there thinking that my life is all candy, take a peak at this.

Poor little Nay, he’s going through a clumsy growth spurt and he was walking along the couch and tripped over what I only assume was his own feet and he fell right onto the corner of the couch frame.  He cried so badly, Cake was super scared too she ran straight up the stairs and interrupted  S. Geek while he was on a conference call for work.  Poor guy, and then today he pulled a toy off a shelf right onto his own forehead and got another huge bump right between the eyes.  So much for taking him to get his two year portraits any time soon!!

Here’s the recipe I used, but note my changes here in the post!

happy bagel baking!

Hugs,

Jenn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 2:16 pm

    After all that, I forgot to mention that those bagels look AMAZING!!! What a great job!

    -Dawn

  2. September 17, 2010 2:18 pm

    {This is getting silly now, I don’t think my first message submitted…. so here is what I meant to post first, lol :

    Hi there! We are stopping over from the blog hop.. but I can’ t locate your Google Friend Connect Button… so I can’t follow you.. =(
    {If for some reason you don’t have one, I would highly recommend adding it to your blog}

    If you have one and I am missing it, just let us know and we will swing back and follow! Want to also invite you to our Saturday Hop that includes Blog/Facebook & Twitter! It opens at 8pm if you are interested. Hope you will join us!

    Thanks!
    Dawn & Raphael at http://www.justmarriedwithcoupons.com

    • September 21, 2010 12:07 am

      thanks for coming by, google friend connect only works on google blogs so you won’t find them on wordpress or typepad or the like. But if you like what you see feel free to subscribe in a reader or by email.

  3. September 18, 2010 2:12 pm

    Ok, yumm! I’m going to have to try these too. 🙂 Thanks for checking me out over at A Little Bit of Everything.

  4. September 18, 2010 10:45 pm

    These look great!

    I am hopping in from Friday’s hops. If you have time I would love for you to stop by.

    Giveaway Blogdom

Leave a Reply

