Skip to content

just got home, have nothing prepared

September 20, 2010

My name is Jenn j-Jenn, j-j-j-j-j-j-j-Jenn j-Jenn!!

Well, I’m home from the airport again dropping off not picking up which means I’m on my own this week.  Luckily I have several fun things lined up to keep my mind off of S. Geek being away and normally I’d love to share them with you right this minute buuuuuut I’m not going to.  Why?  Uh, well I am freaking tired.  That’s the only reason and it’s good enough for me, for now anyway.  We just got back from seeing these guys:

Yo Gabba Gabba Live!

Oh my goodness it was a fun show and perfect for my kids.  It was so interactive and had so many of the songs we see on the show that it made it so easy for us to enjoy ourselves.  DJ Lance Rock was super energetic and although I could tell he’d done the show hundreds of times previously I totally felt as though it was special for us.  Their musical guest was a group called ‘the saltines’ whom I’ve never actually heard of but enjoyed.  They had a guy named ‘Do It’ as their dance guest, then the regular Bebox (or whatever) guy who is on the show do his bit.  His was the only part that dragged on and was kinda lame but I don’t like him in the show either so maybe it’s just me.

Only problem is that Cake is now super overtired, she is not going to bed well and combined with this being the first night of S. Geeks trip she’s feeling all off kilter.  She is usually a bit difficult to put to bed on the first few days of S. Geeks trip but tonight is particularly bad.  She is throwing some major tantrums and I am beginning to have to chant my patience mantra so as not to tear into her room and tie her down to her bed.  But at least this time I’m not hiding in my walk in closet crying while I chant. Nay almost fell asleep in my arms, but he’s such a good sleeper I wasn’t worried about him really.  It’s now 40 minutes past bedtime and I can still hear Cake upstairs…I’m going up there.  brb.

~

~

~

OK, I’m back.  She had taken her comforter and pillow off her bed and the rest of her ‘babies’ and thrown them on the floor.  Then I guess in a rush of guilt she wanted them back but couldn’t find her flashlight.  After she got her bed sorted out, she asked if she could earn her babies back that I took out of her bed.  When I asked her how she could do that she just said in the most pathetic tiniest voice ever ‘by staying in my bed and being quiet’.  Yes, my darling girl, you have it.  So I’ve been downstairs for exactly a minute and she’s still quiet.  Hopefully this means that much needed sleep is in the cards for my girl.  Which is great because it’s only about another 45 minutes until I plan on going upstairs myself with my book (The Bean Trees, by Barbara Kingsolver) and hopefully getting a chapter in before I pass out.  But before I do that I have two baskets of laundry to fold, a few dishes to wash because my dishwasher isn’t going to be here until at least thursday and even then S. Geek is away so there’s noone to install it. And if I’m feeling extra ambitious I’ll pack the diaper bag for tomorrow but I doubt it because my legs are quite mushy from dancing with DJ Lance for an hour this evening.

No menu plan for this week…because I haven’t done it yet.

Hugs,

Jenn

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

