Skip to content

Apples and Peanut Butter

September 24, 2010

Since starting my diet about a month ago my go-to snack attack plan has involved an apple cut into eighths and a tablespoon of creamy peanut butter.  Seriously delicious, simple, and filing when what I’d really like is to whip up a double chocolate cake with dark chocolate ganache filling and a chocolate buttercream frosting…but…wait…what was I talking about again?

Oh yeah right, apples and chocolate peanut butter.  So with it being apple season, I usually whip up a couple of batches of apple crisp for freezing and consumption during the month of September and October.  Only one problem:  I actually hate apple crisp!  GASP!  I’ve always found it waaaay too sweet with not enough texture for my liking.  When I came across THIS post in the friday blog hops it struck me, and inspired me.  I knew the butterscotch wasn’t for me but I though about PEANUT BUTTER!  I thought perhaps of putting big dollops of the good stuff on top of the topping before baking but I was worried that it would just add to the mushy texture.  Luckily I had about 1/2 a bag of peanut butter chocolate chips in my cupboard so I decided to give it at try.

4 granny smith apples, peels on and sliced in a 9X9 pan

Tossed the apples with a flour, cinnamon, brown sugar mixture and then sprinkled a large handful of pb chips on top.

At this point the original recipe calls to bake for 20 minutes before putting the topping on.  Next time, I’ll skip this step as I think the cook time was a bit too long for the mushiness that I want to avoid.

Cut butter into flour, oat, brown sugar mixture until you've got a coarse meal texture.

Put the butter mixture on top and then throw it back into the oven.  Here, I was super worried about the pb chips melting so instead of baking for whatever the original called for I put it in the oven @ 425 for only 20 minutes.  Next time, as I said above I’ll skip the first baking and only do one run in the oven for about 30ish minutes paying careful attention after 20 minutes not to overcook the apples.  I really REALLY hate mushy apples.

to turn it into a sugar sandwich, I drizzled some pc dulce du leche on top. But take note, the pb chips maintained their shape! Success!!

Here’s a closer look:

tasty!

I have to say, that I loved the peanut butter.  It was still rather sweet for my taste so I’ll cut back the sugar next time but S. Geek thought it was the best apple crisp I had ever made.  Which was nice to hear since I’ve been making them for 10 years now and haven’t ever been able to have more than a bite or two before deeming it ‘not for me.’

There will be a few more of these coming next week bound for the freezer.  We’re going apple picking on Saturday morning so it’s going to be all apple all the time over here.

Peanut Butter Apple Crisp

4 tart cooking apples tossed with:

1/4 cup flour, 1/4 dark brown sugar, a couple teaspoons of cinnamon.

scatter about 5oz of peanut butter chips on top and then bake (or not) for 20 minutes @ 350

Combine

1/2 c. flour, 1/4 c. dark brown sugar, 1/2 c. oats, dash or two of cinnamon

cut in:

3 tablespoons of cold butter

Spread the butter mixture on top and bake at 425 degrees for about 20 (or more) minutes until desired apple texture and tenderness is achieved.

Grey’s is starting in about 4.5 seconds so I’m going to cut it short and bid you adieu!

Have a fab weekend pets!!

Hugs,

Jenn

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 12:37 pm

    Wow, that is a really cool idea! I would *never* have thought to try that – way to be creative! Here from NFF – have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. September 24, 2010 5:41 pm

    That sounds like an awesome apple crisp! LOVE the idea of peanut butter in it!! Thanks!

  3. September 24, 2010 9:10 pm

    That looks amazing!! I want to make this right now!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog today;)

  4. September 24, 2010 11:45 pm

    Found you via a blog hop, and now I’m a follower! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

    chrystal
    http://www.adornonashoestring.com

  5. September 26, 2010 12:39 am

    OhMyGosh that looks soooo good!! I think I will try this one!

    Thanks for visiting my blog tonight 🙂 And yeah I agree, salons SHOULD be open 24 hrs!!

    Hope you’re having a great weekend 🙂

  6. September 26, 2010 1:49 am

    That looks delightful. I love the idea of the pb chips in an apple crisp.

  7. September 27, 2010 3:29 pm

    Sounds yummy. Apples & PB are a great combo.

  8. October 2, 2010 12:06 am

    Thanks for stopping by my page and becoming one of my followers. I am now following you and I am bookmarking this page because I’m going to make this recipe for our sunday dessert!!! This looks so tasty =) I hope you will be able to stop by and join in on my Weird Me Wednesday Blog Hop next week
    http://shhhhhjustbetweenume.blogspot.com

  9. October 2, 2010 1:22 pm

    My oh my, this looks fantastic! I’m drooling just thinking about it! Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

