Skip to content

Just had to share

September 30, 2010

Last year Cake received a real sewing machine made for kids from her grandparents.  She, being the crafty little thing she is absolutely loved it; the only problem is that she can’t control it yet.  She’s not quite ready to manoeuvre the fabric the way it needs to be manipulated but I don’t want to rush her and get frustrated.  So, I figured that a great way for her to participate when I was sewing was for her to learn some hand work first!

With Christmas on the way, I thought a kit would be just the perfect gift to give her.  I saw several pre-assembled kits available for purchase, as well as a few other kits that had been done out there on the internets so I figured that I’d be able to find the items necessary here.

The kit isn’t quite complete yet, I’d still like to find some nice patches, more embroidery floss (hopefully on sale!), as well as some other little knick knacks along the way.

I found this adorable little basket on clearance at Michael’s for only $1.49, I put in 2 eight inch embroidery hoops, one wood and one plastic though since I don’t embroider I’ve no idea what the difference is and I only got the second one anyway because it was pink.

I had these sparkly butterfly clips leftover from my ‘spring is here’ wreath I did a few months ago.  Insert Dora the Explorer Song here…let’s say it again, like we did before caliente!

I had some leftover 4X8 scraps that I had made beanbags out of last Christmas that I thought she would love to play around with.

These were a bit of a splurge but I just couldn’t resist these felt buttons.  I figured that they would be easy for her to use and…uh, well they’re pretty so in they went!!

I also put in a couple of yarn needles, and some pink, yellow and purple embroidery floss.  I’m pretty happy with this, and I’m sure on Christmas morning Cake will be super excited to receive this most special gift from ‘Santa.’

Also…I maaaaay have picked up 2 m. of this.

sqeeeeeeeeeeal!!!

Ummm, isn’t this the awesomest ever?  I saw it and I literally gasped out loud in the middle of fabricland!  I’ve been refraining from buying any holiday fabrics since I don’t have any specific projects in mind yet.  But this…oh this!  I couldn’t resist, and I didn’t want to risk finding a beautiful project and thinking this was perfect and then go back to find it all gone.  This happened to me with the ‘fall’ fabrics, they are pretty well all gone except for the really ‘halloweeney’ cartooney fabric that I couldn’t really use.  Next year when I see the fabric come out in the beginning of August, I won’t hesitate!

So, now Cake has a sewing kit, and a hair bow holder.  And Nay has…nothing so my next project is going to have to be for him.  Do any of you watch the Miffy shows or books?

She's Miffy, the cute little bunny! Miffy, sweet little bunny!

Nay loooooooves Miffy.  A lot.  So I’m going to attempt to make him his own Miffy for Christmas.  And if it goes well, I’ll make him a Reddit alien as well.

I don't think reddit has a theme song.

Wish me luck!

Hugs,

Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    September 30, 2010 4:26 pm

    That is adorable!!!

  2. Rachel permalink
    September 30, 2010 5:59 pm

    That X-mas fabric would make a great table cloth or tree skirt! I can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  3. October 1, 2010 3:55 am

    Your butterfly above is adorable. I’m a new follower hopping in from Friday’s hops. Have a wonderful day and would love if you have time to stop by for a visit.
    http://giveawayblogdom.blogspot.com

  4. October 1, 2010 2:47 pm

    I’m a new follower! Would love for you to check out my blog and follow back!!

Leave a Reply

