Skip to content

Menu Planning Monday

October 4, 2010

Well, I’m finally back on the ball menu planning-wise anyway.  S. Geek is off to Colorado for a couple of weeks so I’m taking the opportunity to do some nice easy meals that don’t take a lot of prep and won’t make a lot so that we don’t end up eating the same thing for dinner 4 nights in a row!  Of course I’m sure that the kids wouldn’t mind if I served the same thing over and over, I may go crazy.  For that matter right now I”m certain their repeat meals would look like this:

Breakfast:  Oatmeal with 1/2 a banana

Lunch:  Grilled Cheese Sandwich with baby carrots and an apple

Dinner:  Plain pasta with cut up chicken.  A bit of sauce for Nathan, and maybe a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese on his pasta.

Exciting, non?

Yeah, that’s what I thought!

The only unfortunate part of S. Geek being away this week is that it is Canadian Thanksgiving this upcoming weekend so instead of a fancy and delicious turkey dinner we will be doing something far simpler and way more low key because even if I did make a turkey dinner for the three of us, it would be more effort than the kids care about at this point in their lives.

So here is the less than stellar plan for the week:

Monday:  Muffin tin meal:  cheddar cheese, ham cubes, grapes, applesauce, crackers, baby carrots

Tuesday:  Pasta bake

Wednesday:  Leftover Pasta

Thursday: Chicken strips and salad

Friday:  Pancakes

Saturday:  Roast chicken, potatoes au gratin, salad  (this is going to be our ‘thanksgiving’ dinner)

Sunday:  Leftover chicken and potatoes

Can you just feel my excitement?  I’m going to, at some point this week, make a pumpkin cake probably with a cream cheese frosting.  Nothing fancy but I’ve got three nice pie pumpkins that I’m going to roast in a bit for puree so thought a nice cake was in order.  Hopefully I’ll be able to refrain from eating the entire thing myself while S. Geek is out of town.

So I’ll be the crazy person chanting ‘you cannot eat yourself happy’ all over the place.  Or maybe I’ll try chanting ‘you cannot un-lonely yourself with a cookie’ brownie maybe, but definitely not a cookie.

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 9:21 am

    Hello! You are far more organised than I am… I usually worry about menus when kids and husband begin to ask…”So what is for lunch!” Thankfully, my mother lives nearby.

  2. October 4, 2010 3:30 pm

    I don’t think it is unreasonable to unlonely yourself with a cookie!!

    Your dinners sound good to me. Good luck!

  3. Teresa permalink
    October 5, 2010 2:30 am

    Well, you got my attention with pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting! That sounds divine!

Leave a Reply

