Skip to content

Fall Apple Picking

October 8, 2010

I was going to title this post ‘I need a vacation and I just checked online and there’s a special 4 night deal to NYC for only $2000 so if someone has some spare $ lying around you can take me to NYC for pampering and shopping.’  But I thought that was a little wordy so instead I’ll go with something a little simpler, oh and it’s real.  I really did go apple picking with the kiddos, but oh man what a blog post this would be if I was writing about shopping and eating and spa’s and being in NYC.  HA!~  Back to life, back to reality!

~

I actually did take the kids apple ‘picking’ the other weekend, the one where S. Geek had thrown out his back.  So it was just the kids and I, and everyone else who decided they wanted some wholesome apple fun!

The kids were less than thrilled to pick apples out of bins, but Mother Nature had her say and the apple season was early this year so we missed the fun picking off the tree.

I didn’t see a single apple on a tree, so disappointing.  I was a bit annoyed at the actual farm workers because they could have at least warned us that there wasn’t any picking to be had before we hauled ourselves all the way out there!  Seriously, I had to cart both kids out there on the rickety tractor only to fill up our bag and then take the tractor  back to where the rest of the ‘attractions’ are.  I would have appreciated some forewarning and just purchase a pre-filled bag at the shop.

We got lots of nice compliments on our apple print t-shirts.  I made one for S. Geek too but he refused to wear it because he said it made him look like he had boobs…HA!

 

Cake was happy to be there though, and despite the actual lack of apple picking there were some other things to do.

Like playing in a giant pile of hay!  You should have seen the dust floating around this place, for some reason they put it all in a big building so the air was really thick.  Nay coughed the whole way home, he has breathing issues already and the hay really didn’t help at all.

We took a walk through the corn maze and picked some dried corn to bring home.  The kids really enjoyed looking for the corn on the stalks, and then plucking some of the kernels off to feed the birds.

We did have a great time, but I only bought one bag of apples because on the tractor ride back from the field I had Cake in one arm, Nay in another arm and I had to hold the bag of apples in between my feet.  Normally I buy about 4 twenty pound bags and it lasts us several months but not so much this year, in fact after snacks today I counted only 8 more apples.  Boo Hoo Hoo!

 

I don’t think I’m going to go back to this orchard again, I went once when Cake was a baby and was underwhelmed and then again this year just unimpressed.  Luckily there is a large variety of orchards in the Ottawa valley so we will be going somewhere different next year.

I’ve been on my feet all day today, except for the 45 minutes or so that I’ve taken to write this blog post up.  So I’m totally going to go to sleep as soon as I’m done.  I’m feeling a tiny bit of guilt though because I haven’t had time to do any of the projects I had lined up this week.  It’s not that I haven’t had time to do them at night after the kiddos are in bed, its that I need the time to go and actually purchase my supplies.  A trip to Michaels, and the fabric shop, and Walmart plus a side trip to Starbucks for coffee would set me up!  But, it’s time oooohh time, why can’t I have the super power of making time stop or at least slow down?  A teeeeeeensy tiny itty bitty bit of my brain fleetingly thought that maybe it would be nice if Nay didn’t nap for two hours a day.  But then I decided that I obviously needed to get more than 5 hours of sleep a night because I had clearly gone crazy.  Crazy, I tell you!

 

So tonight, I will not stay up to watch Jon Stewart even though he is one of the funniest people on t.v. right now and okay maybe I’ll stay up for his opening commentary. I will go to bed at a reasonable hour, I will read my book for 20 minutes and let the cat get settled and then roll over for a peaceful sleep where the slightest of noises does not make me sit bolt upright in my bed causing the dog a near heart attack and spend the next 5 minutes trying to find a new comfortable spot.  Yep, that’s my plan.

To all my Canadian readers, I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!  We will be celebrating with pizza takeout chicken and potatoes and cardboard turkey crafts.  Oh, well Cake has been begging me to bake a pumpkin pie with her so we will be roasting pumpkin for pie at some point as well.

 

Hugs,

Jenn

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 12:08 pm

    The t-shirts are sweet. Enjoyed your post. Better luck with the orchards and the picking next year. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend!

  2. October 9, 2010 3:01 am

    I love apples! That’s to bad you didn’t get to pick them off the tree! 😦 Well have a happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

