Skip to content

Where have I been? Where have you been?

October 19, 2010

You don’t write, you don’t call!  Where have you been???

Ha!  I took a week off from my beloved blog to focus on actually getting some projects done started since Christmas is only like 10 weeks out!!  So far my all homemade Christmas is going very well, but I’m having some problems deciding on some of the final projects to do for some very difficult to make for peoples in my life.  And I’ve only got another 3 weeks or so until my final shopping trip for the season approaches so I decided that I needed to stop dreaming about Christmas and start making it a priority to actually DO!  I soooooooo want to show off some of the projects I’ve completed thus far, but ummmm well I’m pretty sure that most of the recipients actually read my blog or at least they say they do. So I don’t want to spoil the surprises, just know that I’ve been sewing, and constructing and gluing and have been riding a creative high.

S. Geek came home on Friday night and is leaving again on Tuesday so instead of enjoying some lovely quiet time I stongarmed, umm guilted?  No wait, I whined until he agreed asked him lovingly if we could do a teensy bit of work on our long time running bathroom renovation.  Almost 4 years ago, we stopped using our ensuite bathroom.  There had been a small leak from the toilet that landed in the kitchen, plus the tile work in the bath had started to crumble away and we became concerned that mould would work it’s way into the wood.  Soooo here and there either S. Geek or I would smash some tile, or remove something but we didn’t really commit to anything.  So with my wonderful Mom in town she agreed to watch the kids for us so we could get some heavy duty work done on the bathroom.  We had already taken out most of the ceramic tile in the bathtub, so then we took out the vanity, the mirrors, the toilet, the bathtub, then a layer of the effing hardest material on Earth marble flooring plus it’s sub floor, then a layer of the crumbliest vinyl flooring ever with it’s sub floor.  Then we went though every square inch of the floor and removed every nail and staple we could find.  Let me tell you, my forearms are SORE!  Prying up that marble was freakin’ hard work, holy crap!  I will never lay another tile in my life knowing how hard it’ll be to change the floor.  I love vinyl flooring, it’s warm on your feet and it is WAY easier to change, which I can see myself doing as I totally change my mind about stuff all. the. time!

Here it is before we started taking out the flooring.
Here you can see where the mirror was, the mirror hangy thingys were secured with duct tape so S. Geek had to use a hammer to slide them out of place so we could get the mirror off the wall.

I’ll post some more pictures tomorrow of it with all the flooring taken out since I apparently forgot to take some but now I’m in the basement with the kids and walking up two flights of stairs isn’t all that appealing right now…

 

Anyway, I’ve got a delicious cake coming up this week, a superb pork loin dish to share, and so many many thoughts that I’ve collected over the past week.

Just want to give my Mom a big public shout out for watching the littles for us so we could get this work done.  It wouldn’t have happened without her, so thanks!  Plus after day 1, she let us go out to dinner and a movie as well so it was a super awesome day yesterday!

 

Hugs,
Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    October 19, 2010 1:47 pm

    Let your mom know I am only a plane ride away. lol Kidding my mom does help.

  2. October 19, 2010 4:13 pm

    Send her over so Jeff can do the basement! 😉

    Glad you’re finally get some real work done, I’m sure you’ll be thrilled when it’s finally done.

  3. Shannon permalink
    October 19, 2010 5:15 pm

    Great job!!! BTW sounds like an awesome workout!!!

  4. October 21, 2010 4:56 am

    Wow, I am tired just READING that. Go, you!

Leave a Reply

