Skip to content

Pork Medallions in White Wine Mushroom Sauce

October 21, 2010

I love this time of year, not just for the festivities but for the pork sales!  I swear, I must have 6 pork loins in my freezer and at least 3 racks of pork ribs.   S. Geek makes THE best pork ribs I have ever had. So when I came across this recipe in my new favourite bookazine Fine Cooking’s Weeknight Dinner, I knew it was for me.  I did tweak the recipe a bit because I didn’t want to have to buy ingredients I wasn’t sure I was going to use again.  Specifically the original recipe was to use a marsala wine but I didn’t already have any but I did have quite the stock of white wine to enjoy.  So, I took a bottle of Inniskillen pinot grigio and went to town on my special welcome home dinner for S. Geek.  In case you forgot S. Geek was in the Denver area for the last two weeks.

 

Make sure to trim as much fat off of your pork loin before slicing into medallions.

Season the medallions with a bit of salt and pepper while you get your oil hot.  Remember to test your oil before you put the meat in, throw in a bitty piece of something and if it doesn’t sizzle and bubble it’s not hot enough.  If your oil isn’t hot enough and you get started anyway the meat (or whatever you’re cooking) will just soak up all that oil and will change the way your meat cooks.

Sear both sides of the meat and then set on a plate.

Once you’ve seared all the meat, keep the same pan hot and throw in your shallots and mushrooms.

The original recipe called for cremini mushrooms but I only had brown buttons on hand.

Remember that part in the Julie/Julia movie where she talks about not crowding the mushrooms?  I’m a crowder, I crowd the mushrooms and I’ve never really noticed any difference with browning.

See?

After the mushrooms have browned, add in a pinch of salt, the flour, and the wine.  Cook it all down until the wine is almost completely evaporated.

mmmmm wine.

Add in the chicken broth and then reduce by half.  Then stir in the cream and the parsley, again, the recipe called for flat leaf but I only had regular so I rolled on.

Don't you love all the heat waves in these photos? Makes my mouth water!

Add back in the pork medallions and cook until the pork is nice and firm but still a bit pink in the middle; should take about 2-3 minutes but you can cut into a piece to make sure it’s all done.

This dish is one of my favourites, that's why you see it all the time. So pretty!

Our set table, love that little ghostie at the end!

Served with asparagus with roasted rosemarry thyme potatoes.

This was a beautiful recipe, simple but was very memorable.  I really had this feeling like I had just copped out with one too many dishes, had fallen into the same ol’ same ol’ lately with my cooking so I picked up the book and decided that I would try each and every recipe and serve it to my family.  A lot of times I just totally dismiss a lot of recipes as ‘not for us’ but how will I ever know if it’s good if I don’t try it, right?  Right!

Pork Medallions in Mushroom White Wine Sauce

2 lbs pork tenderloin

kosher salt and ground pepper

3 tblsp unsalted butter

3 shallots, finely chopped

12 oz mushrooms, sliced

1 tblsp all purpose flour

1/2 c. white wine

1 c. chicken broth (use low sodium)

3 tblsp heavy cream

1/4 c. chopped parsley

 

Cut the tenderloins into two inch medallions, press down with the palm of your hand and lightly season with the salt and pepper.

 

Heat the olive oil and a tablespoon of butter over high heat.  Once the oil is hot, and the butter is foaming add the medallions and sear on each side for about 2 to 3 minutes.  Transfer them to a plate, and then do the second batch.

 

Melt the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter and add in the shallots with a pinch of salt.  Saute for about thirty seconds and use a wooden spoon to scrape up any bitty’s up from the bottom of the pan.  Add in the mushrooms and cook until all the liquid has evaporated in the pan.  Season with a bit more salt, add the flour and then the wine.  Once the wine evaporates add in the chicken broth and reduce by half.  Then add in the cream and parsley and return the pork to the pan to continue cooking until done.

 

Doesn’t it sound like heaven?  Yeah, it was.  It made it even better that S. Geek was home to enjoy it with us.

 

Hugs,

Jenn

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    October 21, 2010 11:39 am

    Dinner looks delicious! I often make roasted rosemary potatoes as a side dish. Love the wonderful aroma when they are cooking and they taste great too!

Leave a Reply

