Skip to content

I was going to write about this but now I’m going to write about that

October 22, 2010
tags:

I was just getting into writing this post about our not so spooky spider cake when, fresh off the plane, S. Geek told me that I’m going all ‘foodie’ on my blog.  He’s right, I know he is.  I write about food a lot, like a lot a lot.  I can’t help it though!  I’m on a serious diet right now so I put a lot of time and energy into what kinds of recipe’s I choose to cook and when they turn out well I want to share it!  But really, as I was putting together my spider cake post, I sort of started to think that it really wasn’t that special.  Delicious, yes, but special?  Not really, it was a yellow cake with milk chocolate frosting that we decorated to look like a spider.

See, pretty cute non? Oui, I love my Cake’s!!

But, I don’t want to get into a rut and I certainly don’t want to be too predictable.  I want to share pieces of myself, and be creative and explore my life with this blog!  So I now have a self imposed rule: no more than ONE cooking post/week!  Think I can do it?  Yeah…well rules were meant to be broken followed!!!  Y’here me?  Followed.

 

In an effort to share I’m going to use one of the post idea’s I’ve had sitting in my ‘blog idea’s’ folder for about three months now.  I wanted to share some awesomely interesting things about me!

 

I love books, I love reading them and feeling the paper between my fingers.  I love entering the worlds that the author has created.  Even books that I didn’t necessarily enjoy the story, I try to picture myself there and a lot of times I rewrite the ending in my head.  Like in Sense and Sensibility…I wouldn’t have let Elinor end up with Edward, not a chance…but who am I to disagree with Jane Austen.

 

I HATE throwing out travel mugs, we have old ones with chips and messed up paint.  It seriously pains me to throw them away, I have one I bought from Second Cup that dribbles tea all over me every time I use it, yet it sits in the cupboard as I type this waiting to mess up my shirt tomorrow morning.  But I also really like testing out travel mugs, almost every time I go into Starbucks while I wait for my latte to be ready I fondle all the cups, feel their weights, test how they feel in my hand; oh and gasp at the $25 price tag.

 

I love photography.  But, I really don’t like shooting people that much.  I love capturing light and texture the most.  The only gimmicky (if that’s a good word to describe it, I don’t know) kind of feel I like is tilt shift photography.  If I wasn’t such a freak about air planes I’d march  my ass over to the flying school and get one of those guys to fly me up so that I could shoot the city with a super new tilt shift lens.  I don’t know if you’re familiar with tilt shift, but if you don’t go google it, it’s amazing!!  Too bad a tilt shift lens costs upwards of $2000.

 

I never thought that I would be a mom.  I can remember when I was about 20 or 21 and a friend of mine from work had a baby and she let me hold it and when the baby moved it’s leg or something I totally freaked because I didn’t realize they moved.  Yeah…pretty pathetic huh?  Well fast forward 8 or 9 years and I love babies!  It’s not just my kids though, I love all babies and every time I see a baby it reminds me about how much I want another baby.  I’m pretty sure S. Geek is getting sick of hearing me talk about babies so I’m going to leave it at that…babies babies babies!!

 

I actually caught myself thinking the other day ‘well, now what do I do?’  Both the kids were playing in the family room together, the kitchen was clean, we had no where we needed to be.  It was weird, I thought to myself ‘who knows how long I have’  I ended up reading the paper and sipping my tea for almost thirty whole minutes before someone needed me.  As I sat there reading the paper I thought, I need a list.  A list of things that need to be done when I have time to do it but they have to be things I can do while the kids are awake.  So while the baseboards desperately need a coat of paint, there is no way I’m doing that with a 2 and 3 year old looking over my shoulder.  I haven’t started the list yet, probably because I spend too much time looking at recipe’s online.

 

I am way too sensitive.  When someone says or does something to me that hurts my feelings, I carry it with me and let it fester.  Until I get over it.  Sometimes it takes just a day, or maybe longer but eventually I let it go.  I feel like I let a lot of things go.  But that’s me, I’m a peacekeeper.

 

My favourite drink is a rye and ginger.  I didn’t start drinking until I was 19, no really, it’s the truth I’m lame like that and one night at a bar a friend and her boyfriend walked up to me and handed me a drink and I was hooked!  But as it turns out I come from a long line of rye drinkers.  That’s my inheritance, well that and I have a salt addiction.

 

Speaking of inheritances, every time I hear my Dad tell me how much like his mother I am it makes me happy and sad at the same time.  Happy because everyone seemed to love her dearly but sad because she died when I was six and I never really got the chance to know her.

 

I have about 2 dozen book idea’s in my head.  But I admit that I’m too afraid to take pen to paper because of the judgement.  One day I’ll get over it, I hope.

 

Okay, that’s enough.  I’m feeling pretty exposed now, S. Geek just convinced me to eat a reese peanut butter cup, BAD husband, very bad!  So I’m going to wrap it up.  Happy Friday!

 

Here's an end shot of Nay trying to scam the sprinkle's off the spider.

Hugs,

Jenn

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    October 22, 2010 3:25 pm

    BABIES, BABIES, BABIES!!!!!! I am with you. But I didn’t know you didn’t want to be a mom, you’re an amazing mom! Cake and Nay would’ve missed out. Oh and Aly loves Rye and ginger too

  2. October 22, 2010 3:45 pm

    HI there! I am your newest follower from the Friday Linky:) I love finding new blogs and yours is lovely:) You can find me at http://www.bouffeebambini.blogspot.com
    Be sure to check out my giveaways. I only feature gorgeous handmade stuff:)

  3. October 23, 2010 3:29 am

    AAHHH. That cake is too cute!

    I’m really sensitive as well, though I’ve gotten a bit better over time.

    Thanks so much for following my blog, I’m def. following yours!!

  4. October 23, 2010 3:38 am

    I am so happy that you decided to share your spider cake. It’s adorable! My philosophy about blogging…it’s your blog and if you like to blog about food a lot, so be it:) Have a great weekend!

  5. October 24, 2010 9:16 am

    gorgeous cake x

  6. October 25, 2010 2:16 am

    What a fun post this was! You are smart to get off the foodie train while you can, I didn’t start my blog with the intentions of it being all about food, but here I am two years later: a food blog author.

Leave a Reply

