Skip to content

My first Christmas Craft show of the Season!

October 28, 2010

Nothing says Christmas time to me like scouring the papers and online ads for Christmas craft shows to attend!  I have my favourites that I go to every year but I’m always on the lookout for other ones to attend as well.  I normally go for ones in community centre’s or church basements but when free tickets landed in my mailbox (thanks Shannon!) for one held at Lansdowne Park I couldn’t wait to go!  This was a pay to get in show which I normally avoid because I’m cheap like that and it was a pay parking lot which I also normally avoid but I’m so glad I went.  I didn’t actually buy any of the crafts I saw because they were SUPER expensive but I did get a lot of ideas while I was there, and I got the chance to drool over some of the other talents that people have that I’ll never ever possess.

This was a little honey pot, it was $32.

I took a lot of pictures while I was there, in some booths I asked first and others I just shot away and no one seemed to mind.  It’s not exactly a public venue since we had to pay to get in but I took a chance and none of the staff gave me a hard time even though my camera was in full display.

I'm not sure what type of stone this was but it was beautiful and really unique.

A lot of the vendors seemed  really friendly and were eager to answer questions.  My Mom is an artist so I think she enjoyed seeing what other people were doing.  There were two photographers there, one was a portrait photographer and I passed her booth twice and no one was in it.  It was all black with a few hung up portraits of baby bellies and families smiling, but I felt that she was a bit out of place.  The other photographer was a nature photographer and he had boxes of prints for sale.  I perused through a few but they were mostly birds so I didn’t really enquire much more.

hand carved wood bowls

I loved these wood bowls but I much prefer the ones made from driftwood.  The owner of this stand was eyeing me, perhaps I was acting suspiciously.

These little houses were super adorable!

I loved these so much, I didn’t even look at the price tag because they were quite large.  I’d say the smallest ones were about three feet across and about a foot high whereas the larger ones were at least five feet long!  So beautiful and something like this would look fabulous in my house but oh my goodness, did I mention that a small fist sized honeypot was $32??

Dehydrated fruit and vegetable art.

This was another quite unusual booth, all her art was made from dehydrated fruit and vegetables!  She had luminaries, and hanging lanterns and lots of framed pieces as well.  It’s not something I’d personally hang up in my kitchen but it was quite different.

 

 

Adorables!!!

This was the only thing that I was really tempted to purchase.  They are fabric helmet covers in a few dozen different patterns.  My favourites were the princess and the dragon but in the end my frugality held me back from making a purchase though I did ask for her card just in case I regretted my decision.  I just kept thinking how easy it would be to spot Cake and Nay on the ski hill with these helmet covers on but then again Smuggs couldn’t even manage to send Nay home with his mittens so do I really want to risk loosing a $40 helmet cover?

So pretty!

My goodness this one was so amazing, and again would have fit quite nicely into my decor.

Not one that I’d choose to have in my house, but the skill it must have taken to make this astounds me.

I love this kind of stuff, but my favourite was the mug I showed you yesterday.

Swoon!

This beautiful mug took my breath away!  The owners of this booth said that they press lace into the clay (or whatever it’s made out of) before they fire it and that’s how they get that super cool design!  They had mugs and bowls and serving dishes and fountains, and I could have spent a million dollars there easily.  But I didn’t, this one mug was $48.  So sad that I had to leave it behind but that is a LOT of money to spend on something like this.  Even though it was super cute and amazingly unique…I made the right choice…I think.

 

While this sale is actually over, most vendors I spoke with will be returning for the Signature Christmas Craft Sale held at the Nepean Sportsplex I believe the first weekend in November.  If anything caught your eye, or if you want to part with $48 to buy me a new mug go and visit them!  At least parking at the sportsplex is FREEEEEEEEEEE!

 

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    October 28, 2010 7:48 pm

    You are welcome!! Love the pics!! next year you will be there selling your stuff!!

  2. October 29, 2010 3:40 am

    Thanks for sharing some of what you saw at the Craft show. So much talent out there. Pottery is one of my favourites.

  3. October 29, 2010 4:09 pm

    Uau… Very interesting stuffs. Thanks for stopping by to my blog: http://www.scentedleaf.blogspot.com. I’ll try to read more…

Leave a Reply

