Skip to content

Little Boy’s Christmas Gift Idea!

October 29, 2010

Boys are tough!  Geez, when shopping for Cake and planning out what to make her I’ve had no problems at all!  Cute dress here, cloth doll there, done and done.  Boys…not so much…  And it just so happens that there are boys all over the freakin’ place in our circle of family and friends!  So when it came time to make some gifts for some of the boys I had to get my best thinking cap on, to make sure that I was going to give them something they’d like, that was age appropriate, and that was above all else…FUN!!

We had an early ‘Christmas’ with S. Geek’s family this past weekend because my in-laws are snowbirds and are heading to Florida in a short while.  So that means that I actually get to share the Christmas gifts I made with you early so that you can make them too!!  Which is funny because Nay loved little Xavier’s gift so much that I’m going to make him one too to go underneath our own Christmas tree!

 

weeeeeee!!!

The first thing I can say, and not stress it enough is that you should get a GOOD tote to put this sensory bin in.  The first one I bought was a cheaper one and after filling it and carrying it, I was worried so I went out and bought a heavy duty one.  With the weight of the filling in it, the kids will need help to get it out anyway and really who wants them to play with this unsupervised anyway?!?! so I didn’t worry about the added pound!

 

Two adorable little blondies! Xavier on the left and Nay on the right.

I started by filling it with a big bag of multi colour rice, then a huge bag of green lentils, and then to finish another huge bag of shell shaped pasta.  Originally I went searching for wagonwheel pasta but the day I went to Bulk Barn they were sold out a rush on wagon wheel pasta, who knew? Then I added a small bag of river rocks that felt really smooth and weren’t too big for little hands.  Then the fun part came, looking for the awesome construction kit for the kids to play with!

 

I couldn't even get the boys to look at me for a photo.

I found the set at winners and it came with three trucks and some signs and little pylons and one construction guy.  I wouldn’t recommend filling it up with too many toys because then they can’t drive the trucks in there!!

 

Oh boy, this was a hit and when it was time to put it away when the boys discovered it was fun to use the dump truck to bring rice out of the bin Nay was one unhappy character!  He tried repeatedly to get back into the bin and this is where I was thanking my foresight in changing bins because the original bin didn’t have locking handles you’re welcome Shannon. and he cried and cried when he couldn’t get the lid off.  I’m thinking of making one slightly different for Nay, I thought a dinosaur dig would be a good idea but haven’t settled on anything yet.  If anyone has any suggestions I’m all ears!!

 

This was such a good way for us the start off the holidays even though Halloween hasn’t even happened yet and I’m so glad that our families were able to get together and share some time together.  Of course now that we’re only 8 weeks left until the big guy comes it means that I’m going to turn into a crazy insane busy person (and LOVING every minute of it!!)

 

Hope you enjoy your toys Xavier and Tristan, (I’ll be sharing what I made for our other nephew in a few days so stay tuned for that one) and to Shannon and JP…I hope the mess isn’t too bad!!!!!!!!

 

Hugs,

Jenn

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    October 29, 2010 11:29 am

    Sensory bins are the best! Kids love them and you can change them up easily.

  2. October 29, 2010 3:26 pm

    Just stoping by to say thanks for stopping by. I love those vintage cards I have a ton of valentine’s ones from my mom. I do not think i will every think of any thing cool enough to do with them besdies putting them in our card display at the correct holidays.

  3. October 29, 2010 4:17 pm

    I am following you back. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I love your idea of a sensory bin as a gift. What fun. The Dinosaur Dig sounds perfect for a little boy. You could also do an “ocean” theme with sharks, sea life and maybe even some people to go in little boats. Have fun!

  4. Magic Faerie permalink
    October 29, 2010 5:04 pm

    Hi, thank you for stopping by my blog on Boost my blog friday!

    Thought you might be interested to know that The Famous Five are actually two boys (Juilian + Dick), two girls (Anne + George) and a dog (Timmy)! Good combination 🙂 So should be readable for boys or girls – my brother loved them too.

  5. October 29, 2010 11:01 pm

    Hey there..thanks for popping by my blog today (p.s check out youtube for the knitting video’s..makes it super easy to learn!)…love your blog..following you now!

  6. October 31, 2010 3:25 am

    Love your gift idea. If that doesn’t make a boy happy and keep him busy – nothing will!

  7. October 31, 2010 6:07 am

    Such a cute idea. I wish I’d thought of this when my boys were a few years younger.

  8. November 3, 2010 3:52 am

    Following from the blog boost. I’d really appreciate a follow back? 🙂
    Crystal
    http://www.inspirationinnovation.blogspot.com

    Love this idea 🙂

  9. November 6, 2010 12:47 pm

    Adorable boys and great project! I did one of these too but wasn’t as creative with multiple fillers… I just used dry white beans as “rocks.” We have a quarry across the road so it was a big hit. STILL vacuuming up those beans tho! 😉 Found you thru 733’s boys party. Happy holidays ~ I can see you’re off to a fun start!

Leave a Reply

