Skip to content

Grandparents Christmas Gift

November 5, 2010

A big thing in Canada for senior’s is being a snowbird. You spend the late spring, summer, early fall in Canada and then travel down to Florida for the rest of the year. My own grandparents did this for many years and I have quite fond memories spent in Lakewood, Florida shopping and visiting the attractions. So when S. Geek’s parents jumped on the snowbird bandwagon last year I knew it would be a big adjustment for them and for us, not having free babysitting the grandparents around to play with the kids all the time.  Sending them off, I wanted to give them something that would remind them of their grandkids but wouldn’t be too shrine-like as I’ve seen some grandparents houses turn into.  So, I figured that this would hopefully be a good option and one they could look at to remind them of the little people freezing their arses off left behind in the great white north!

 

I started out by cutting out four shapes, each representing one grandchild.

I wouldn’t say I’m an awesome freehand drawer but I figured that 4 shapes wouldn’t be too difficult.  and except for the hockey player I think I did very well.

 

Love this polka dot fabric!

I bought 12X12 pillow forms, so I cut out 13X13 fabric squares, then pinned and stitched the felt shapes on to the right side of 4 of the squares.

 

Voila!

Then with right sides together, I pinned and then stitched together leaving an opening for turning.  After it was turned out, I put in the pillow form, then top stitched to close it all.

 

I did my two kids in the bigger polka dots and then the other two grandchildren in the smaller polka's.

 

I made a princess crown to represent Cake.

 

A red firetruck to represent Nay.

 

A blue baseball to represent Xavier.

 

Finally, a black hockey player to represent Tristan.

The hockey player was the only hard one to draw.  I started off just drawing a stick and puck, but I was never happy with how it turned out so I switched my plan.  In the end, I think it turned out pretty darn good even though S. Geek said it looked like a dancer and not a hockey player.

This wasn’t the most complicated project to put together but for years to come I hope that it’ll bring joy for Grandma and Grandpa.

 

Happy Friday!!

 

Hugs,

Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 2:44 pm

    What a cute idea and thoughtful gift for the snow-birding grandparents! You did a great job and I could tell right away that it was a hockey player!

  2. November 5, 2010 6:08 pm

    Out Blog Hopping 🙂 I am a new follower of your blog!

    Would love for you to follow me back
    http://chicnsavvyreviews.blogspot.com/

  3. November 6, 2010 6:01 am

    I think this is a really cute idea. It’s simple, but fun, and it isn’t too cutesie or “idolistic” 😉 I think the hockey player looks just like a hockey player. 🙂

    Thanks for coming by bugaboo, mini, mr & me! It was cold here, too, but not mitten and scarf cold – yet! bug had to wear a hat, though.

    (Having a giveaway, if you want to check it out:)
    http://bugaboominimrme.blogspot.com/2010/11/that-one-giveaway-i-told-you-was-coming.html

  4. November 10, 2010 9:21 pm

    Great blog! New Follower. Following from the blog hop. I have a food blog that’s loaded with recipes, spices, food giveaways and more.
    http://abundanceyeah.blogspot.com/2010/11/10-people-for-thanksgiving-20-dishes-no.html

Leave a Reply

