Skip to content

Another Awesome Boy Gift Idea

November 12, 2010

I’m seriously LOVING all the awesome tutorials out there right now for gifts for boys.  Since learning how to sew last year, I’ve found loads of awesome things out there for Cake but not so many things for all the little boys in my life!  When I came across THIS I knew I just had to make it for someone!  So since I needed a gift for one of my nephew’s who is four almost five I thought this was perfect because he’s old enough not to toss the cars around when he’s sitting in his carseat because lets face it, if I gave something like this to Nay to play with in the car he’d totally toss all the cars and then cry until I could pick them all back up again and put them back in the adorable little pockets.

 

All folded up and ready to wrap!

I chose different materials than Jill did, firstly when I went into fabricland and asked for duck cloth, the sales associate didn’t know what that was…yeah…so anyway another associate knew and then said they didn’t sell it but after seeing Jill’s tutorial suggested a medium weight canvas.  So, I bought my canvas and then left knowing that I still had several old shirts I could repurpose rather than buying any denim.

 

SO cute!

I also opted to use fabric paint for the numbered pockets since that was a lot easier.  I sewed on the road and then used gorilla glue to put on the yellow dash’s.  The most fun part was going to the toy store to pick out the cars, poor Nay had about 25 cars in the cart and got rather annoyed when I told him we only needed six.  Cake had some input as well, she chose quite a few pink and purple ones, but I wasn’t sure that Tristan the recipient would enjoy that so we only kept one of the purple ones!

 

Vroooooooom!

I really enjoyed making this, and it made it even more special for me to know that Tristan liked it so much and has something special made just for him by his Aunt Jenn.  Unfortunately, I don’t even have a picture of him with it since during the opening all four kids were going at once and it was pandemonium!!!

 

Aren’t handmade gifts the best?  I think so too!  Go check out the awesome tutorial for this car caddy and then go make it!  Just don’t confuse those poor people at Fabricland by asking about duck cloth.  Oh how I wish Joanne’s was in Canada 😦

 

Hugs,

Jenn

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 5:12 pm

    This is a wonderful idea!! My littlest guy is just turning 4 and he still brings cars with him EVERYWHERE, I think this will be a great handmade gift for him. I’m going to try and do at least one handmade gift for each of my boys. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Nothing wrong at all with battin’ the lashes, I usually do that too, LOL. 🙂

    Danielle

  2. November 13, 2010 6:26 pm

    What a great gift that is! I love how portable it is, and can imagine how a young boy could have a lot of fun with it.

  3. November 13, 2010 11:38 pm

    I have made several of these. They are so fun and make great gifts. And you reminded me I am supposed to be making another one too! Thanks for linking up to Fantabulous Friday!

  4. November 14, 2010 9:42 pm

    hey! thanks for the sweet comment! I read through some of your recent posts! I love your blog and love this idea (although I know you said you got it from someone else…I love yours)! I’m trying to make most of our gifts this year and had been wanting to make a ‘quiet’ toy for my husbands/my nephew who’s 2 1/2. Maybe I can try this.

  5. November 16, 2010 4:50 am

    I love it – that is the cutest thing ever. I know my own son would like it, but he’ll need to wait a couple of years, as he would also throw all the cars and cry. But one day, man. One day.

  6. November 17, 2010 10:45 am

    Holy cannoli woman that’s the cutest little boy gift ever! I would love to make one!
    You only learned to sew last year? You are pretty amazing! My daughters want to learn to sew, I’m going to tell them about your project after a short time…
    Thanks for linking up at All Things Merry & Brite! The linky will be open till Sunday in case you want to link up more of your great ideas!
    See you next Wednesday~
    xoxo
    Robin
    All Things Heart and Home

  7. November 19, 2010 3:53 am

    I’ve made a couple of car caddies and they are so much fun. My boys love the one they have, and I think another one will be in the making soon so they can each have their own.

    It’s so much fun seeing everyone’s different caddies and getting new ideas for next time!

Leave a Reply

