Skip to content

Delicious Go Make Them Now Chocolate Peppermint Crackle Cookies

December 9, 2010

Yep, they are THAT good.  They are beautiful and flavourful but not punch you in the face pepperminty and have captured my heart.  Thank goodness I baked an extra 3 dozen of these babies because they are the perfect snack for my afternoon and morning who am I kidding coffee.  I first fell in love with these cookies when visiting a Panera another place I wish we had in Canada while in NY a few weeks ago.  I bought one and upon tasting the first bite declared them better than the shortbread I always get when I go to Panera not that I go cross border shopping very often cough, cough. Anyway, I started scouring the internets for a copycat recipe and found several different versions of the chocolate crackle and just figured if I jiggered it a bit I’d find a good amount of peppermint extract to add in to get the beautiful flavour I enjoyed on my trip.  The recipe was exceedingly easy, so easy in fact I made 12 dozen of them for a Christmas cookie exchange last weekend!  I’ve frozen a few to give away this Christmas and the rest are sitting in a pretty cookie container on my counter slowly HA! being emptied with each beverage I consume.

The recipe does take two days to make though because you have to chill the batter for at least 8 hours so that it doesn’t just melt away to goo when you roll the balls.

melted chocolate = awesome

Start out by mixing your dry ingredients in a medium bowl and set aside.  Then put your chopped semi sweet in a microwave safe bowl and micro on medium power 1 minute at a time until it’s mostly melted.  I found 2 minutes (with a stir in between minutes) worked and then I just stirred for another minute or so to melt the last remaining bits.

Ready to be incorporated!!

Do you like my banana’s there on the right?  Yeah, every day for like 5 days I was all ‘I’m totally making marbled banana bread’ yeah…not so much.

Anywho, mix up your wet ingredients and then slowly incorporate the chocolate and the flour mixture.  Be careful not to overmix, and then pour it out onto some plastic wrap, and throw them in the fridge for awhile, or overnight.

In the morning, get two bowls.  One for white sugar and one for powdered sugar.  You need both because the white sugar will act as a barrier between the cookie and the powdered sugar.  I read this somewhere when I was searching for my recipe and it was really great advice!

it’s nicer when you use Christmas bowls to roll in.

Anyway roll into balls, mine were about 1.5 inches and then lightly roll in sugar and then heavily roll in the powder.  Place them on a cookie sheet with parchment paper about 2 inches apart.

they look like pretty little snowballs!

Then bake them in a 325 degree oven for about 13 minutes.  They’ll look a bit mushy at first but don’t over bake them unless you want them crisp I may have done this with my first few trays.

Pretty!

When they come out let them sit on the tray for about 2 minutes and then transfer them to a rack to cool completely.  At this point any small people who reside in your house will come looking for goodies.

So easy and my kitchen smelled divine for just hours and hours afterwards though it may be the sheer quantity that lead to this.

Here’s the recipe, though it’s really no different than any other chocolate crinkle cookie out there, except for maybe that it makes 4 dozen cookies so if that’s too many be sure to scale it down.

Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookie

1 3/4 c. all purpose flour

1.5 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

8oz. semi sweet chocolate

2 1/4 c. sugar (reserve about 1/2 c. sugar for rolling)

1/4 c. canola oil

1/4 c. melted butter

2 eggs plus one egg yolk

2 tsp. vanilla

1.5 tblsp peppermint extract.

about 3/4 c. powdered sugar for rolling

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.  Melt the chocolate in the microwave or a double boiler and then set aside.  Mix the wet ingredients and then incorporate all three together.  Refrigerate for a few hours or overnight.  Preheat oven to 325 and line baking sheets with parchment paper.  Roll balls into desired size.  Lightly roll balls in white sugar and then heavily in powdered sugar.  Place about 2 inches apart and bake for 12 or 13 minutes.  Let cool on pan for about 2 minutes before transferring to racks to completely cool.

OK, you may begin baking NOW!

Hugs,

Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 1:54 pm

    They look wonderful and so festive!

  2. December 9, 2010 4:22 pm

    They look so pretty, without being overly fussy. I may have to make these, but I’m scared to make that many since I’m the only real cookie eater or peppermint/chocolate fan in the house!

  3. December 10, 2010 8:16 pm

    OK these are amazing, and I have to say they are much softer than I imagined – that’s a good thing 😉 They look kind of crunchy b/c of the crackle in them but they’re actually really moist. Love them!

    • December 16, 2010 1:24 am

      Oh my goodness! Those look divine!!! Chocolate and mint are my FAVORITE combination!!! Thanks for linking up to Thrilling Thursday @ Paisley Passions last week. I am going to feature your delicious looking cookies tomorrow. Feel free to stop by and grab an “I Thrilled” featured button off my side-bar if you would like 🙂

Leave a Reply

