Skip to content

MPM – Desserts are Delicious

December 13, 2010

My grocery list is about fifteen kilometres long really, really really long, and expensive looking.  Its not sad though, because it’s all food for baking!  I’m all done my Christmas gifts except for the baking so this week I’m going all flour baby!  My parents are also here for the rest of the season so I’ve got a full house again, a pretty big difference from it being just the kids and I!  I’ve been saving up recipes in my email for a few weeks now and can’t wait to give them a try.

Monday: Roasted Garlic Shepherds Pie from HERE

Tuesday:  Mexican Pizza using my favourite homemade whole wheat pizza

Wednesday:  Spaghetti with cinnamon pasta sauce, caesar salad, and garlic bread

Thursday:  Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches, cut veggies and dip

Friday:  S. Geek and I are heading out but we’ll be leaving behind Fish and garlic spinach for the little people and the grandparents

Saturday:  Celebrating Christmas with my bestie Rob and her family.  This year we’re doing breakfast for dinner!  I’m making baked french toast from Meg‘s recipe.

Sunday:  Rollover Beef Stroganoff from last week.

 

Maiden voyage for my pizzelle press!

Here’s my baking schedule, mmmm can’t wait!

Monday:  Peanut butter pretzel bites

Tuesday:  Cherry coconut drops

Wednesday:  Buttermilk Pie Bars (I’ve never made this before but gee it looks tasty!)

Thursday:  Brownies

Friday:  Bacon Pinwheels

Saturday:  Rice krispie chocolate logs

Sunday:  Speculaas (FINALLY, can’t wait to use my new press!!)

Cake really didn’t like the smell of this at all!

I’ve also found the time to make some pizzelle cookies for S. Geek not too long ago.  He’s been asking me to make them for YEARS, so I finally bought the press a few months ago and have listened to incessant requests for the cookies since.  I happened across the extract in the grocery store and thought I’d pick it up and make a treat for S. Geek before he left for his trip.  I can’t even believe how easy they were to make, and how quick!

So pretty!!

There are so many different variations on the recipe but I just did the plain one for my first go.  I’ve also heard of them topped with many different things, jam or fruit or whip cream but I just opted for plain old powdered sugar.

snowy snowflakes!

I’m hoping to make some more to serve on Christmas morning with some of my home made jam from the summer.  Mmmmm!  I also just wanted to point out that I was very happy with the plates on the press itself.  I was worried that the cookies would stick and I’d have to scrape the batter off the plates like my panini press, but was pleasantly surprised to discover that none of the cookies stuck, even though I overfilled it several times.

 

So, I’ll be covered in flour from head to toe for at least the next eight days but I’ll try my bestest to post photos with hopefully unhurried words this week.  I’m loving Christmas this year, SO fun!

 

Hugs,

Jenn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    December 13, 2010 2:11 pm

    Looks like a busy week ahead for you in the kitchen! The press is beautiful and I’m sure your cookies are fabulous. Enjoy your company and have a great week.

  2. Shannon permalink
    December 13, 2010 7:41 pm

    Oh…I want the cherry coconut recipe. YummY!

Leave a Reply

