Skip to content

Good Kitchen Day

December 14, 2010

Day one of my baking plan has gone off really, really well.  I’ve got two trays of delicious sweet and salty yummy chocolate peanut butter goodies setting in my freezer right now.  It will take superman type willpower to keep me away from them…I’m even considering going to sample another one right now.  Ah, crap.

I got the recipe from this GENIUS she is one of my favourites and this recipe just reaffirmed my beliefs.  Pretzels plus peanut butter plus chocolate is A-OK in my book.  But, these are going in several gift baskets that I’m putting together so as to save my waist line!  Cake helped me do the sandwiching and helped put together the actual peanut butter mixture and I found it very kid friendly.  Though it was hard for her to wait for the freezer to do it’s bit.

With the leftover peanut butter mixture, I simply added about two cups of rice krispies and then rolled them into balls and then covered those in chocolate.  Last year Rob made something similar for S. Geek in her Christmas basket and he devoured them pretty quickly I may have helped.

 

I also wanted to show off the amazing dinner that we all rated as five stars.

I’m not usually a huge fan of shepherds pie, I find it bland and to be honest a bit boring but this recipe was so delicious!!  I’m not sure exactly what part I liked the best but the roasted garlic in the potatoes was a great start!

Also, I left all the skins on my potatoes when I mashed them.  They weren’t as creamy and smooth as regular mashed potatoes but when I went to the grocery store this morning there wasn’t a good selection of potatoes so I bought a bag of mini’s and there was no way I was going to sit there and peel 20 tiny potatoes!

The meat mixture was pretty standard, saute onion, carrots, and corn add meat, add sauce, cook and make delicious.  This is what I did.  I also baked it in my convection oven and it crisped up nicely on the top.

In the original post, he made a pretty design on the top. I loved this.

In case you’re interested HERE is the link.  I really enjoy this site, I discovered a beautiful pavlova there earlier this year and fell in love.  Go look around, see if you can find the pavlova!!

 

More baking tomorrow, can’t wait!

Hugs,

Jenn

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 2:45 pm

    Ooh, not sure I’ve ever been called a genius before! I like it. 🙂 Thanks for the sweet words!

    Glad you enjoyed the little pretzel bites!

  2. December 14, 2010 4:57 pm

    Haden gave a super load “WOAH” when he saw those pretzel peanut butter things 😉 They look yummy!

  3. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    December 14, 2010 10:42 pm

    What a yummy day in the kitchen indeed!

Leave a Reply

