Skip to content

Something for the Little Girl

December 23, 2010

I had two little girls on my list this year that I wanted to make a little something for.  First Christmas’s are pretty special so even though I don’t see these girls too often or ever Rachel cough cough cough it’s ok I guess living 3000 kms away is a good excuse I guess I didn’t want to let the holiday go without acknowledging it.  But I also needed something that was lightweight because holy crappola postage is expensive.  It costs me more to send something across Canada than it does for me to send something to the US even though the actual distance is comparable!

Anywho…

I picked up a couple of Carter’s long sleeve onsie’s, some heat n’ bond, some adorable coordinating fabric, and dug through my cookie cutter collection.

coincidentally both little girls names start with the letter 'A' so that saved a bit of time.

I prewashed the shirts and fabric and then traced the cookie cutter shapes and the ‘A’ onto the heat n’ bond.

very easy!

Then following the manufacturers instructions I cut out the shapes and ironed it onto my fabric and then trimmed it up.  When the instructions say not to over heat…don’t overheat!!!  I may have had to do my star twice several times in order to get it right.

hoo hoo hoo!

After I cut out all four of my shapes I ironed them onto the girls shirts trying very hard to keep them straight.  Afterwards I gave them a once over with a tight zig zag stitch on my sewing machine to make sure that they’ll stay put.

love this owl fabric!

Beautiful Tulip

A is for Avlyn

Another 'A' for Amelia

I love these shirts and as I went totally overboard in my heat n’ bond purchases I foresee some personalized shirts for Cake and Nay in the future.  I hope the girls like their shirts, I’m hoping to see some pictures soon?

 

Can you believe tomorrow is Christmas Eve?  Yeah, me neither.  I need to go wrap something.  Ha!

 

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 2:29 pm

    You are so crafty. These are very sweet. Merry Christmas to you and your sweet family!

  2. December 31, 2010 10:46 pm

    LOVE that owl fabric! Super cute idea.

Leave a Reply

