Skip to content

Homemade Turkey Soup from Scratch

January 4, 2011
tags:

Did you throw away your turkey carcass after Christmas?  I didn’t, I never do because without it how would I make any delicious stock as the base for my fabulous turkey soup?  Now I can’t take credit for this soup entirely, it’s originally my Mom’s recipe that I’ve juggled about with but the premise is still the same.  Make stock, add turkey, make delicious.

Start with your cleaned up turkey carcass, or I suppose if you had chicken’s you could use those too!  Put the carcass in a big pot…BIG!  Then add water.

 

Pot, turkey, water. Still with me?

 

Next, get your seasonings and your veggies in order.  Do not peal, do not chop.

 

Salt, peppercorns, bay leaf, and ummmm dutch seasonings in a tea bag...? I used google translate on some of the ingredients and it's as such: mace, thyme, celery seed, rosemarry and some that didn't compute. If you can't find these tea bags then just take whatever seasonings you like and put them in cheesecloth.

celery washed but leave all the leaves on, carrots and onions unpeeled.

Throw them in the pot.

 

Happy together!

Next, boil the hell out of them, for three hours.

 

happiness live here!

Strain all the chunks out and then put the stock in a fresh pot, or in my case two fresh pots.  Then pop them in the fridge for an overnight so that all the fat rises to the top and the stock gets all gelatinish.  (yeah that’s a word, totally!)

The next day, take out the pots and using a spoon scrape off the top layer of fat and discard.

 

My soup pre-scraping.

I used less than half of the stock I’d prepared, the rest went into the freezer.  But for this batch I brought the stock to a rolling boil and added my meat and veggies.

 

one white onion, three celery stalks, two parsnips, three carrots and about two cups cooked turkey.

 

Once the soup returns to a boil add in some of your favourite noodles.  Here’s my favourite.

 

I usually prefer the medium thickness but I had fine in my cupboard so in it went!

I also added in about 2 tablespoons of this to make it delicious!

 

Maggi makes all soups delish!

Normally I’d go ahead and add a whole lot of maggi to the soup but since little people don’t like flavour much I only added a tiny bit.  Both S. Geek and I added more to our individual bowls once we were seated for din!

 

The finished product!

Little people love this soup just as much as the big people do.  I usually serve it with bread and pickles and cheese and it just gets better and better.  As I mentioned, the stock easily freezes to make more at a later date and if you get into the habit of doing this with all your bones you can totally supplement the premade soup you buy from the grocery store that’s loaded with salt and preservatives.

Now that we’ve rung in the new year, I’ve renewed my commitment to reducing sodium in my diet and cooking your own meals from scratch is an excellent way to do this.

 

Happy soup making!

Hugs,

Jenn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 3:16 pm

    Serious comfort food!

  2. Rachel permalink
    January 4, 2011 4:53 pm

    Try Half salt Jenn. I’ve been using it and I don’t even notice the difference. I went with half salt instead of no salt because we do need some salt. If not for the personal LOVE of salt, we do need the iodine to prevent goiters.

  3. January 7, 2011 5:55 am

    Thanks for the recipe. I could have used it after Christmas, but I think we’ll have a turkey again sometime in January and THEN I will conquer the turkey soup thing. Gotta try the Maggi Seasonings. Linda

  4. January 7, 2011 6:03 pm

    That looks so good….now I am hungry for some soup!

  5. January 13, 2011 7:25 pm

    Your sounds really good!

    Thanks for linking up for Friday Favorites!

Leave a Reply

