Skip to content

Flash You!

January 7, 2011

For Christmas, S. Geek seriously went overboard with a whole new Canon T2i for me.  I’ve only just cracked the spine of the manual but so far it’s totally amazing the advances in technology that have happened in the four years I’ve had my old camera!  When S. Geek was probing me for gift ideas I resisted the idea of getting a new camera, afterall, my old camera was back up to snuff after a bit of tinkering, a new SD card, a thorough cleaning and several motivational conversations.  But now that I have the beauty in my hands um, yeah I’m totally hooked.  It’s not just the brilliant new technology though, it’s my brand new flash!  Oh, the difference in my pictures is absolutely night and day!  I received the Canon 430EXii, which is the mid level speedlight that Canon offers.  The refresh rate on the flash is astounding, I don’t know maybe it’s because I’ve always used the built in flash that I’m so impressed but seriously!

 

I know nothing about flashes of course as this is my first one, but I can’t wait to spend some quality time learning and experimenting. Until then though, here’s a few shots I have managed to capture.

OK, I had a big list of pictures to upload but I took these all on the highest quality setting and they are taking FOREVER so I’m going to stop there.  But, don’t worry there’s lots and lots and lots more coming in the future.

 

Hugs,

Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 3:59 am

    Congratulations on the camera, I now have camera envy! Thanks for your nice comments!

  2. January 10, 2011 3:49 pm

    I am so envious of your flash. It’s going on my wish list for next Christmas. I’d love to hear more about it as you learn all the tricks!

    I got my husband that exact same T-shirt for Christmas – the rock paper scissors lizard Spock one. He taught our son how to play and now they are both addicted.

  3. Rachel permalink
    January 18, 2011 6:01 am

    Where did you get that shirt? I think it would make an excellent Valentines gift for Aly.

    Oh ya, great camera 😛

    • January 18, 2011 2:16 pm

      hey, the shirt is from http://www.thinkgeek.com. The shipping is outrageous to Canada but worth it for the treasure trove of geeky goodness. That particular shirt is a kids one but I’m fairly certain there is a grown up one available.

Leave a Reply

