Skip to content

Dinner’s Done, Now What?

January 10, 2011

Fist off, I want to admit that my mind isn’t totally 100% on my blog.  It’s on this:

Baptism Photo's

It’s not the actual baptism that I’m thinking about, rather it’s the three hundred photos I took today.  Not all of them were good, but a large portion of them were great and that just makes my heart SING! I was, of course honoured to be invited to my friends special day but I was delighted when I was asked to take photos of the event for them.  I was a bit nervous at first as I’ve never been the strongest portrait photographer but I took some time to look online at some albums to get some ideas in my head and then I just let the moment take me.

 

After it was done?  Ohmygoodness, S. Geek commented in the car to me as we left the church that I was glowing and I have to admit, it felt good.  It felt good to think about composition and light.  I was able to concentrate on texture and trying to capture the feeling I wanted to convey.  I think I’ve discovered something about myself today, well rediscovered anyway.  I really miss photography, and I think that I am really going to try and make an effort to spend more time like I did today.

 

So now I’m home and I’m back to my life where kids want attention, and please put this dress back on Barbie, and where’s my firetruck, and can I have a snack please?  Speaking of snacks, I spend a lot of time thinking about, preparing and serving food.  Three meals plus snacks, desserts and treats to be baked, bread to be frozen, recipes to research, ingredients to seek out, all food all the time.  So when I prepared my meal plan for the week I decided that I’d make a standard list of lunches and snacks so that I didn’t end up serving peanut butter crackers three times in one week with grilled cheese sandwiches every other day for lunch!  While I did take the kids tastes into account, I also wanted to introduce some new flavours to them.  S. Geek and I are pretty adventurous with our food, Nay will eat pretty much anything and well Cake, well she…likes…peanut butter.

Here’s the Lunch List

Peanut Butter Sandwich with Chicken Noodle Soup

Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Tomato Soup

Turkey, Lettuce, and Cheese with mayo/mustard on thin bagles

Raspberry Tea Sandwiches with carrots and celery sticks

Whole Wheat Pasta in marinara sauce

Coronation Chicken in pita wraps

Cauliflower Soup with crackers and celery sticks

Fish with Potato Pizzette Bites

Turkey, apple and dijon mustard panini sandwiches (had these today, delicious!)

 

Snacks Menu

Crackers and cheese or peanut butter

popcorn

goldfish and raisins

peanuts and raisins

whole wheat banana muffins

Zucchini muffins

Honey Date Cereal Bars

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

or…duhduhduhduh….

FRUIT!  HA!

 

I’m going to be featuring some of the recipes in the upcoming weeks so be sure to stay tuned for that!

 

Hugs,

Jenn

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    January 10, 2011 5:23 pm

    Awesome!!

    Lunch ideas perfect!! A few of us Moms sending our kids to full day school are becoming stumped. 😦 Lucky for me my school offers healthy warm lunches 3 days a week for $4.00 and I usually sign up for that…but I still feel stumped for the other two days. All the rules…such as NO NUTS, NO FISH and NO EGGS has me usually packing almost the same stuff.

    Thanks for all your work on your blog.

    • January 10, 2011 5:58 pm

      Yikes! No nuts, fish, or eggs? Yeah, I’m not looking forward to that at all! If you’re getting bored of sandwiches, you could start sending something like savoury muffins or scones instead. I’ve got some great recipes for these and with little sugar and loaded with veggies they’d make a great substitution! I’ll dig some out and PM you soon!

  2. January 10, 2011 6:34 pm

    Funny you should post this, I have a post on snacks in the works too.

    There’s no nuts, fish or eggs at our school too and other restrictions depending on the class (dairy, pineapple, kiwi, strawberries, etc. etc.). That’s why I bake so many muffins and things for the school kids, as well as the daycare kids. Those whole wheat carrot waffles we’ve made are good cut up and cold too, all the kids like those. Pita and hummus is also popular with my kids, and they especially like the w/w mini pitas for whatever reason (probably just b/c they’re fun). I sometimes add red peppers or olives for variety. Unfortunately popcorn doesn’t fit well in a lunch bag, it takes up too much room, and if the kids have two bags in the bin it invariably causes problems (especially if they’re in a portable where it seems they’re lucky if one bag makes it inside the school). Too bad, because it’s an easy and healthy snack.

    My Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies freeze really well and make a good lunch snack. I just wrap them in twos and put them in a Ziploc bag.
    http://momicon.com/2010/12/02/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-cookies/

    Jenn, will you be sharing the date cereal bar recipe? Julian’s always asking for those Nutrigrain bars, which I refuse to buy.

    • January 10, 2011 6:52 pm

      Yes, the cereal bars are coming up this week. Shawn and Nay really liked them but Cake was opposed to the idea of oatmeal being ‘crunchy’ (which they weren’t) but she didn’t even want to try them so I’ve got a whole pan for Nay and Shawn to share. I think a more appropriate title for the recipe though would be Date Oatmeal Bars as there was very little honey in them.

  3. Shannon permalink
    January 10, 2011 8:27 pm

    Maranda,

    WOW on the fruits not being allowed, I do understand why as they are the more allergenic fruits. Sigh!!
    I’m attached to your blog as well. Love the recipes from both of you. I”m finding there really isn’t a reason for me to buy anymore cook books. :):)

    Thanks to both of you for your time.

    BTW my family loves the oatmeal granola bars. As for buying granola bars, muffins and cookies at the grocery store for all the sugar and stuff you just can’t pronounce. 😉

Leave a Reply

