Skip to content

Easy Roast Chicken

January 13, 2011

I was going to start this post off talking about how exciting it is for me when I see whole roasting chickens go on sale at the grocery store.  I had a whole paragraph written about how my heart flutters when I’m going through the refrigerated bins looking for the nicest ones of the lot.  Then I reread what I had written and decided I sounded WAY too pathetic.  So I deleted the whole thing and ended up rewriting it in a self deprecating way.  I am awesome.

 

I really do love a nicely roasted chicken though, and it is a super easy meal to make.  There are many variations to this recipe, you can really switch out the spices to fit your own tastes.  I have gone hot with chili’s or more mellow with a bit of paprika and oregano, today though I’ve chosen to season with rosemary and a bit of salt and pepper.

Start by slicing 2 small or one large onion and tossing it in the roasting pan with a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil.

Make the slices nice and thick because they’re going to be in the oven for a while and you don’t want them to crisp to the pan, you want them to support your chicken.   Next clean your chicken inside and out and pat dry with a paper towel.  Season the inside of your chicken with a bit of salt, pepper and rosemary.  Next half or quarter some lemons, I only had one lemon so I did a lime as well.

Oh, I should also mention that you should check over your chicken for stray feathers.  Ew.  I can’t handle this part, the feeling of ‘plucking’ them…EWWWWW!  I just cut them off.  I know, I know I’m a lightweight.

The skin isn't healthy for you anyway.

So stuff your citrus into your chicken and then tie up the legs so the lemons don’t get squeezed out during cooking.  Next melt a couple of tablespoons of butter, and pour that stuff right over the top of your chicken.

Then liberally season with salt, pepper, and rosemary.

Heat your oven to 425 degrees, and cook for between one hour and fifteen minutes to one and a half hours until the internal temperature reaches 185 degrees and the juices run clear.  When it’s done, this is what you get!

This produces a lovely moist and flavourful chicken, which we usually pair with rice and brussel sprouts or broccoli.  Easy peasy, non?

 

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    January 13, 2011 3:45 pm

    Oh my Jenn that looks soooo yummy….I just might have to try to cook now after seeing how easy that is….although with just 3 of us home together on one day a week….it is a pretty big meal for us….but just may have to try it out!

    Thanks 🙂

  2. January 13, 2011 5:10 pm

    That roast chicken looks so amazing!! I was going to do something with a whole chicken I thawed last night, but my rosemary plant has died just in the past couple weeks. No idea why, cuz I managed to winter it over last year. Oh well. I’ll have to stop at the grocer and get some fresh rosemary.

    Thanks for stopping in at Cranberry Morning. You’ll love those bagels, and yes, John made it look really easy! Just a couple more steps than baking bread. 🙂

  3. January 14, 2011 5:15 pm

    Your chicken looks awesome! The brown and crisp skin especially . . . mmmm. And I’m totally with you on the disgustingness of plucking out stray feathers. Eeewww . . .

Leave a Reply

