Skip to content

What I’m Working On

January 20, 2011
tags:

I was going to head straight up to bed tonight but I needed to get a bit of food in my stomach so I didn’t go to bed starving.  But now that I’ve got a little muffin in there if I fall asleep now I will have crazy dreams and nightmares.  So I decided I’d just write up about what I’m up to these days.

 

Taken on my IPhone

I am finally getting around to making some more play pants for my nephew Xavier, and this time I made a matching pair for Nay.  I took out my pattern again for the Huck Finn Pants from weekend sewing but decided against using it since it was so annoying to use last time.  I just took a pair of Nay’s pants that were in the diaper bag and worked off of that.  And really, they’re pants so it really isn’t all that challenging.  I LOVE this fabric though, I picked it up from this little old lady at a fabric sale in a swanky neighbourhood in Ottawa last fall.  She said that she had been saving this fabric for her grandkids but never made anything from it and now her grandkids are in their twenties!  Ha!  There was a lot of it too so I was able to make two pairs of pants and still have at least a metre left over for something else.  I love these primary colours, this is going to be the only time in their lives where they will be able to get away with wearing stuff like this!

I’m going to make a couple more pairs of full length pants though out of a crab fabric and a robot fabric (both flannelette) that I purchased from Joann’s some time in 2010.  (Hopefully done before Sunday!)

 

 

My beatiful best friend Robynn and her hubby Mitch

Other than spending some quality time with my sewing machine, I’ve been working on trying to get the photos from the baptism all cropped and edited.

 

unedited, cropping and a bit of lightening. Church lighting was tricky to get used to.

 

 

unedited but this one only needs a bit of cropping

 

I’ve been using GIMP to do all my editing and though I’m a beginner I’ve been getting good success.  I truly and down to my core believe that the best photographers only have to do minimal editing to make their shots special.  A bit of cropping here, some colour or lighting correction there, but when you start into the real special effects I really think that your art is no longer classified as photography and rather digital art.  Don’t get me wrong, digital art has it’s place, you just won’t see it on my screen.  I’m going off topic here…I’m editing, I’m learning that’s my point.

 

So those are my nights, as my day’s are filled with little kid stuff and dieting.  The last two days I have been super hungry, and have been having a hard time controlling my cravings.  I’m still staying within my daily calorie allotment but it’s been rough, I’m sure that if I had something cheat worthy in the house that I would have gone for it.  I’m trying to stay strong since I’m only three pounds away from my first big goal and I’d love to do that before the end of the month.  Sigh…*stay strong, stay strong*

 

Hugs,

Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 8:10 pm

    What cute little pants! I agree with you on the photography thing. I’m a graphic designer so I work with that stuff all day. If you have to edit every little thing on a photo, it’s not your photo anymore. A good camera and a quick touch-up is all you need.

  2. January 21, 2011 6:17 am

    Such cute pants! And thanks for your sweet comment on my 3 little projects!

  3. January 21, 2011 8:34 pm

    I tend to get a little carried away when photo editing so I usually show my husband first before publishing. Most of the time, he likes them when I do minimal editing.

  4. January 24, 2011 4:49 am

    Love the pants! You have to take advantage of this time to dress them in really fun patterns, I’m totally with you on that count. 🙂

Leave a Reply

