Skip to content

Lens Baby, Yeah!

January 24, 2011
tags:

A few weeks ago, I was given the chance to try out a Lens Baby Muse when Maranda lent me hers.  It took me awhile to get used to but after a few video’s on youtube and a bit of practice around the house I kind of got the hang of it.  The best way I can describe it is that the Lens Baby Muse bends and changes the sweet spot of your frame.

The Lens Baby comes with four aperture disks and a handy dandy little magnet thing for you to remove the disk from the lens.  This was a fun to do.  I tried out all four disks as well as without any disks at all.  The disks are 2.8, 4, 5.6, and 8.  Not sure which was my favourite, probably 5.6 or no disk at all.  But that may only be because I was getting annoyed by the time I got past 2.8 and 4 that I was happy with any photo I took that even remotely worked!

2.8. Not the best photo but it gives you an idea.

I found it really hard to get pictures of the kids using the lensbaby, but really I’m inexperienced so I took a long time to get my shots right so that may have had something to do with it!!  I used auto settings the entire time so that I could totally focus on what I was doing unfortunately only after I had given the lens back was I reading online about adjusting your diopter before putting on the lensbaby.  I should have done this.  I also tried it out with my external flash but that was a HUGE mess, again after reading about it I read that a light meter or actual measurements were the best way to use the lensbaby with a flash.  I remember thinking to myself that that was never going to happen.  Even in my pre-digital days I never owned a light meter, I just flew by the seat of my pants.

4.0 disk installed, no tilt

I have short fingers.  It took me a bit to be comfortable with my thumbs on the back of the camera and my fingers controlling the lens.  Looking at the photo above, I think I have claw fingers.  That’s one of the things I hate about taking pictures of people, is people often hold tension in their hands and all I can think about is that they have CLAWS!!!  I’m a freak, I know. With how your fingers are positioned, you adjust the tilt by either pulling or pushing one side of the lens.

5.6, thank goodness for natural light

Like I said, the 5.6 was my favourite disk.  I played a lot more with the tilt with this disk and found the sweet spot a lot easier this time around.  After I had taken a bunch of pictures of spoons and clocks and what not I did try to get back and get some more of the littles but it just wasn’t happening for me.

8.0, sweet spot is on the far right side.

The whole time I was using this, I thought about how great this lens would be for taking pictures of food.  A nice angel food cake with a dreamy scape?  So pretty!  Too bad I didn’t do much baking during the time that I had it but I really think that any food photographer would love this lens!

no disk, moved outside in the cold for these!

Another one with no disk. So beautiful!

The mailman walked up while I was taking these and remarked that I was brave to be out without my jacket.  Ha!  Anyway, I really found that by the time I got to the end I was getting used to how the lensbaby muse worked.

At about $130 CAD for the Lensbaby Muse in plastic it’s a great way to add a speciality lens to your kit.  The double glass Muse is a bit more at about $200 but still that’s a decent price for a lens that really has a lot of functionality.  Lensbaby has quite a few other lenses in its lineup including the Composer has a ball and socket and focuses using a ring, the Control Freak which is similar to the Muse except that after you’ve found your sweet spot you can lock it in place using some locking pins, the Scout which is a non-tilting fisheye.

The Scout is definitely an attractive option for me, it’s slightly more expensive like double but a fisheye would be pretty cool!!

 

I really enjoyed playing with this lens and so if Lens baby wants to ship me anything to you know like try out or whatever I’m totally up for that ;))))  Ha!  I know I’ve said this before but I’m really liking concentrating on photography again, even if it is sporadic at best.  And really I’m best when I’m outside anyway, and there’s no freakin’ way I’m going out with my lens when it’s like -40 degrees out there!

 

Hugs!

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    January 24, 2011 3:36 pm

    Have you looked into taking photography part time at a post secondary institution? It really seems to be a passion / hobby worth exploring for you. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

