Skip to content

Four Years Ago Today…

January 25, 2011

Four Years ago today, I took my dog and two cats to the vet.  When I lifted my forty pound dog up onto the table my vet vaulted herself across the office to help me and said something about not doing that ‘in my condition.’  I laughed it off, it’s no problem I told her he doesn’t weigh that much.  Both the cats and the dog got clean bills of health, got their updated shots, teeth cleaned up, and all got treats.  I packed my ‘furbabies’ into the car and then decided to head home across the city.  It was a bit of a drive but I love my country vet and although it’s inconvenient to get there I always feel happy about the care my pets receive there.  As I was driving home, I felt a little twinge in my belly.  Ha!  I laughed that off as well and thought to myself, ‘gee I hope lifting Pawter up onto that table didn’t put me into labour!’  Hahaha!   Whatevers, I wasn’t due for two more weeks and everyone knows that on your first baby you’re ALWAYS late!

I got home around 11am, and was STARVING!  During my pregnancy for Caitlyn, I consumed more than my fair share of english muffins topped with mozzarella.  As luck would have it, we had one last english muffin in the cupboard.  One delicious english muffin just waiting for me to consume it.  I split the muffin, popped it in the toaster and pressed it down.  Now I can’t remember exactly why I bent down, but I did, probably to put the knife in the dishwasher but I guess it doesn’t really matter.  It was the exact moment that I stood up, that my water broke.  First thought ‘WTF!’  Second thought ‘did I just pee myself?’

After a trip to the bathroom and a smell test, I determined that it was totally my water and that I should probably call S. Geek at work and get him to come home.  Too bad I had the car!  But luckily one of his work friends was able to drive him home so that he didn’t have to take a taxi or something.  So after calling S. Geek my first thought was that I had just leaked amniotic fluid all over my ONLY CLEAN PAIR OF PANTS.  Yeah, so I gathered up a load of wash and got it started so that I could go to the hospital dressed respectably.  Ha!  Oh the things you worry about!  Anyway, I still had my precious english muffin to worry about which had long popped from the toaster and at that very minute was getting colder and colder and stale!  So I tried to rescue it with a tiny bit of microwaving and was satisfied.  I was just sitting down to eat when Ring!  Ring!  Ring!  S. Geek had called my Mom to let her know that we were heading off to the hospital and so she decided to call me to see if there was anything I needed.  At that moment I was mostly just hungry but too polite to eat while on the phone so I sat there staring at my english muffin chatting with my mom about I don’t even know what.  Anyway, by the time S. Geek got home, I was still on the phone with my Mom trying not to be nervous or upset that my delicious english muffin sat there cold and wrinkly, my beautiful plan to enjoy this treat foiled by my baby.

 

I didn’t even feel anything other than wet, no contractions, no nothing!  I can’t remember what I ended up eating for lunch that day since my beautiful muffin was a bust, but to this day I can’t eat an english muffin with mozzarella cheese without thinking about the day I went into labour.

 

The rest of this day, the day before I became a mother, was filled with tests and prodding and waiting.  I didn’t go into labour on my own, I had to be induced because my amniotic sack was definitely broken but my body was not starting contractions on it’s own.  I’ve heard that induced labour is more painful but since I have nothing to compare it to I couldn’t tell you.  By midnight of that day I was hooked up to the machines and I had finally asked for the epidural at about 7 cm.  Let me tell you though, after going through a drug free labour, getting that needle in my spine was by far more painful than pushing out a baby!!

 

Four years ago today, I was worrying about laundry, and finding time to eat.  I was thinking about being prepared but not too attached to the plan.  Four years ago, I was ready to give all that I could.  I wasn’t prepared for the sore nipples, or the feelings of helplessness, or isolation that comes with being a stay at home mom.   But I wouldn’t trade any of it for anything.  Four years ago tomorrow Cake made me a mother.  I never knew you could love someone as much as I love her.  She is brilliant.  She is everyone’s friend.  She is creative and energetic.  She has an amazing ability with language as well as sequence and order.  She is STUBBORN but she reasons very well.  She thinks that being nice is important, she believes in fairness.  She is innocent and I love that.  She has my green squinty eyes, she is long legged like me, but she has S. Geek’s intellect and outgoing personality.  She is the best of both of us.  I love her so much, and can’t believe how much she has grown in the four years she has been with us.  Her first word, spoken at four months old was ‘ready’ and that’s just what she’s always been: ready.  She is ready for life, for challenges, for responsibility, for friends, for school.  She is ready.  Go forth my Babycake go and show the world you’re ready to take it on.  I’ll always be your cheerleader, ready to be your Mamma.

a few hours old

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    January 25, 2011 2:28 pm

    Happy birthday to your beautiful little Cake!

  2. Rachel permalink
    January 25, 2011 3:05 pm

    This made me cry. 😦 Happy Birthday Cake.

  3. January 25, 2011 6:47 pm

    What a heartbwarming story….thanks for visiting my bog too!

Leave a Reply

